Skip to content ↓

Mechanical engineering presents awards certificates

The Department of Mechanical Engineering presented certificates to students at its annual awards luncheon in the Pappalardo Lab on May 17.

Mechanical Engineering Service Awards for outstanding service to the department went to graduate students Ephrat Most of Cambridge and Maribel Vazquez of Brooklyn, NY; Emily Hui, a senior from Hockenssin, DE; and Mary Kathryn Thompson, a junior from N. Huntington, PA.

The Carl G. Sontheimer Prize for excellence in innovation and creativity in design was awarded to Matthew Sweetland, a graduate student from West Sussex, UK. Aaron J. Schmidt, a junior from Foxboro, MA, was awarded the Thomas Sheridan Prize for outstanding research related to human factors.

The Padmaker P. Lele Student Award for academic excellence was awarded to Tsue-Te Judith Su, a junior from Boca Raton, FL. Padmakar P. Lele Student Awards for outstanding and dedicated service as an undergraduate teaching assistant went to Niyati N. Gandhi, a junior from Cary, NC; Rony Kubat, a senior from Sudbury, MA; John M. McBean, a senior from Rothesay, Canada; and Ms. Thompson.

The Luis De Florez Award for outstanding ingenuity and creativity went to four seniors: Justin W. Raade of Washburn, WI, Patrick A. Petri of Villeneuve, Switzerland, Jonathan D. Rohrs of S. Deerfield, MA and Mr. McBean.

The AMP Inc. Award for outstanding performance in 2.008 (Design and Manufacturing II) was awarded to juniors Jennifer T. Blundo of Canton, MA and Timothy P. McEvoy of Minnetonka, MN. The Whitelaw Prize for originality in design in 2.007 (Design and Manufacturing I) was presented to sophomores William J. Fienup of St. Louis and Kathy Hwang of Manhasset, NY.

The Wunsch Foundation Silent Hoist and Crane Awards for outstanding performance on an undergraduate thesis or project related to materials handling were presented to Soohyun Park, a graduate student from Lexington, MA; Chunhua Zheng, a senior from Staten Island, NY; juniors Christina Park of Alameda, CA, Mark N. Jeunnette of Albuquerque and Grant W. Kristofek of Evanston, IL; and sophomores Patrick Buckley of New York, Kateri A. Garcia of Albuquerque and Alison Wong of Chesterfield, MO.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 6, 2001.

Related Topics

More MIT News