Skip to content ↓

Chemistry department bestows awards on 10

The Department of Chemistry honored 10 students for their achievements in 2000-01.

The American Institute of Chemists Foundation Award, given in recognition of outstanding achievement, ability, leadership and character, was awarded to Susan Yuditskaya, a senior in chemistry from Burlington, MA.

The Alpha Chi Sigma Award for achievement in research, scholarship and service to the department was presented to Theodor Agapie, a senior in chemistry from Bucharest, Romania.

The Frederick D. Greene Teaching Award for outstanding contributions in teaching went to Daniel O'Connell, a senior in chemistry and mathematics from Miami Beach, FL. The MIT Chemistry Research Award for outstanding research in chemistry was presented to two seniors, Christopher Snow of Edmonds, WA and Ms. Yuditskaya.

The MIT Chemistry Service Award for significant service to the department was presented to Yevgeniya Nusinovich, a senior from North Potomac, MD.

The Merck Index Award for outstanding scholarship was awarded to Marie Blanke, a senior from Bangor, ME; Ian Chan, a senior in chemistry and graduate student in computer science and engineering from Seattle; and Adriane Stebbins, a senior in chemistry from Gothenburg, NE.

The Hypercube Scholar Award for outstanding achievement in computational chemistry was presented to Mr. Snow. The ACS Analytical Chemistry Award for outstanding achievement by a junior in analytical chemistry was presented to Ryan Zeidan, a junior in chemistry and chemical engineering from Kentwood, MI.

The CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award for outstanding academic achievement in chemistry was presented to Elisa Calimano, a freshman from San Juan, PR.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 6, 2001.

Related Topics

More MIT News