Skip to content ↓

26 Burchard Scholars named

Twenty-six sophomores and juniors have been selected as Burchard Scholars in the School of Humanities and Social Science for 2000.

The awards, named after the School's first dean, John Ely Burchard, are given to students who demonstrate unusual abilities and academic excellence in the areas embraced by the School. The students selected in the 14th year of competition for the awards "are from exciting and diverse backgrounds and are a remarkable group of gifted young scholars," said Dean Philip S. Khoury, co-founder of the Burchard Program and chair of the selection committee

The scholars and a rotating group of faculty will be invited to a series of dinners beginning in February, at which an MIT faculty member will present work in progress followed by a discussion. This will allow students and faculty members to mix and will give students, especially, an opportunity to engage in the kind of intellectual exchange that characterizes scholarship in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. The emphasis throughout the program will be interdisciplinary.

In addition to Dean Khoury, the selection committee consisted of Professors Margery Resnick (foreign languages and literatures), John Hildebidle (literature), Michael Fischer (Program in Science, Technology and Society), Lowell Lindgren (music and theater arts), and Charles Stewart III (political science).

The Burchard Scholars are as follows:

Juniors: Daniel Berger, political science; Blake Brasher, architecture; Samidh Chakrabarti, electrical engineering and computer science (EECS) and brain and cognitive sciences; Eric Chang, biology; Irena Goldenberg, economics and management; David Hu, mathematics; Miya Kayahara, materials science and engineering; Douglas Kriner, political science and history; Emily Meyer, physics and mathematics; Laura Moulton, history; Delphine Nain, computer science and electrical engineering; Philip Osafo-Kwaako, chemical engineering; Dawn Perlner, mathematics and music; Anand Sarwate, electrical engineering and mathematics; Peter Shulman, mathematics; Manu Sridharan, computer science; Carl Steinbach, computer science; GiRim Sung, biology; Philip Tan, comparative media studies; Hilarie Tomasiewicz, biology; and Jeffrey Vieregg, physics and electrical engineering.

Sophomores: Simone Berkowitz, economics; Nathaniel Choge, EECS; ManYan Ku, biology; Tara Rao, biology; and Daniel Riordan, biology and mathematics.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on February 2, 2000.

Related Topics

More MIT News