Skip to content ↓

Awards & Honors

��������� "Scamology," a track on the Aardvark Jazz Orchestra's Aardvark Steps Out CD, has won the Independent Music Award for best jazz recording, in a national competition sponsored by the Music Resource Group. Directed by Mark Harvey, a lecturer in music, Aardvark is a concert ensemble committed to exploring new sounds in contemporary music, including the original compositions of Mr. Harvey. The award was based on originality, caliber of musicianship and quality of performance. The Music Resource Group, based in Montclair, NJ, is a national industry association of artists, producers, publishers and journalists dedicated to furthering independent music in rock, pop, jazz, blues and world music.


��������� Professor Martha L. Gray, co-director of the Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology, has been elected to the Board of Directors for the National Space Biomedical Research Institute (NSBRI). The NSBRI, a consortium of 12 research institutions including MIT, focuses on research to pave the way for human exploration of space. "Dr. Gray's research background will prove invaluable and a guidepost to many of the Institute's research areas," said Dr. Bobby R. Alford, NSBRI board chairman. She has conducted extensive research in cartilage and bone tissues, which are of critical importance to such common and debilitating diseases as arthritis, osteoporosis and fractures. Dr. Gray holds the Edward Hood Taplin Professor of Medical and Electrical Engineering chair and is a member of the New England Baptist Bone and Joint Institute.


��������� Chairman of the MIT Corporation Alex d'Arbeloff (SB 1949) received a lifetime achievement award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) on October 2. The IEEE Test Technology Life Time Contribution Medal honors an individual's lifelong outstanding contributions that have made a fundamental impact on test technology. Mr. d'Arbeloff co-founded Teradyne in 1960, a company that is now the world's largest supplier of automatic test equipment for the electronics and telecommunications industries. He served as president and chief executive officer of the company from 1971-1996, and is currently chairman of the board. Under his leadership, the company's annual sales increased from $13 million to $1.2 billion.


��������� Professor Edward Lorenz (emeritus) of the Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences, known the world over for defining "chaos," has won the 45th International Meteorological Organization Prize. The award, conferred annually for original work on the influence of meteorology in a particular field of the physical, natural or human sciences, was presented to Professor Lorenz for "starting a scientific revolution by opening an entirely new field of scientific enquiry: 'the predictability of macroscopic systems -- chaotic dynamics,' which has profound influences on human affairs far beyond the boundaries of his discipline."


��������� Professor James G. Fox, DVM, director of the Division of Comparative Medicine, won the 2000 American Society of Laboratory Animal Practitioners Excellence in Lab Animal Research Award. The award was presented during the organization's annual convention in Salt Lake City in July.


��������� Lee Gehrke, professor of Health Sciences and Technology, received a mentoring award from the Biological and Biomedical Sciences PhD program at Harvard University for "fostering exceptional student-advisor relationships. 'He is devoted to his students and helps them however he can,'" wrote the awards committee chair. One student wrote, "Lee is an amazing advisor and almost single-handedly is responsible for my decision to stay in graduate school. Also he has encouraged me to spend time grasping the big picture of my projects rather than just do them to add one more skill to my technical goody bag."


��������� Har Gobind Khorana, the Alfred P. Sloan Professor of Biology and Chemistry (emeritus), received the School of Science Distinguished Service Award this summer "for his 30 years of inspiring research and collegiality in the departments of biology and chemistry." The award was presented during the International Symposium on Nucleic Acids and Signal Transduction, a celebration of the research accomplishments of Professor Khorana and his present and past colleagues held at Brandeis University. In 1968 Professor Khorana shared the Nobel Prize in medicine/physiology for his "interpretation of the genetic code and its function in protein synthesis."


��������� The National Association of Corporate Directors will present Professor William Pounds (emeritus) of the Sloan School of Management with the Director of the Year award for "demonstrated leadership in promoting the principles and best practices of good corporate governance." Professor Pounds was dean of the Sloan School from 1966-1980 and has been a director of many successful companies. Barbara Hackman Franklin, former US Secretary of Commerce, also will receive the award.


��������� MIT's network manager, Jeffrey I. Schiller of Information Systems, has been honored with the 2000 Educause Award for Leadership in Information Technologies, recognizing "visionary achievements and effectiveness in identifying and advancing technology directions for the various needs of higher education." Mr. Schiller will receive the award next week in Nashville at the Educause annual conference, a forum for more than 5,000 professionals involved in the management of information resources in higher education. A $2,000 contribution that accompanies the award is being made in Mr. Schiller's name to the MIT Class of 1979 Student Aid Fund.

An internationally renowned expert on computer security and network architecture, Mr. Schiller played a critical role in the development of robust, scalable secure networks for higher education and the broader community. He has developed and managed the MIT campus computer network since its inception in 1984, and is one of the primary forces behind the implementation of MIT's distributed computing infrastructure through Project Athena. He is co-author of MIT's Kerberos password-based authentication system, the key component for secure operating environments, and he is responsible for the development and deployment of an X.509-based Public Key Infrastructure at MIT.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on October 4, 2000.

Related Topics

More MIT News

Wind turbines on the top of a hill

A healthy wind

Health benefits of using wind energy instead of fossil fuels could quadruple if the most polluting power plants are selected for dialing down, new study finds.

Read full story