Skip to content ↓

Students recognized for athletics

The Department of Athletics, Physical Eduation and Recreation recognized a number of students for their sports achievements during their years at MIT.

The Harold J. Pettegrove Award for outstanding service to intramural athletics was presented to Be A. Ware, a senior in mechanical engineering (MechE) from Milwaukee.

The Pewter Bowl Award goes to a female senior who has shown the highest qualities of inspiration and leadership in intercollegiate athletics. This year's recipient is MechE senior Robin C. Evans of Granville, OH.

The Admiral Edward L. Cochrane Award recognizes a male senior who has shown the highest qualities of humility, leadership and inspiration in intercollegiate athletics. The 1999 recipient is Ravi V. Sastry, a senior in electrical engineering and computer science (EECS) from Princeton Junction, NJ.

The Betsy Schumacker Award for excellence in athletic competition by a female undergraduate went to Deirdre K. Dunn, a senior in chemical engineering (CE) from Weston, MA.

The Howard W. Johnson Award for male senior athlete of the year went to Joel Morales, a CE major from Corpus Christi, TX.

Malcolm G. Kispert Awards are presented to the male and female scholar/athlete of the year. This year's winners are Victoria A.Best, a senior in architecture from Staten Island, NY; and Jason C. Miller, a senior in EECS from St. Petersburg, FL.


The following men are four-year letter winners, with their home towns and majors (all are seniors unless otherwise noted).

Baseball: Joel Morales

Heavyweight crew: Dan Parker, EECS, Guyton, GA; Michael Perry, MechE, Ann Arbor, MI; Karl Richter, MechE, Arlington, VA. Lightweight crew: Dan Frisk, MechE, North Falmouth, MA; and Kristopher Kendall, a graduate student in EECS from Danville, CA

Cross-country: Michael Parkins, MechE, Prairie Village, KS

Fencing: Brian Bower, EECS, Haverhill, MA

Football: Scott Blackburn, MechE, Scituate, MA; Kevin Clarno, nuclear engineering, Round Rock, TX; Walter Krebs, management, Roswell, NM; and Duane Stevens, MechE, Scio, OR

Gymnastics: John Miller, a graduate student in MechE from Salem, OH; Chris Resto, civil and environmental engineering (CEE), Royal Palm Beach, FL; and Robert Spina, MechE, North Massapequa, NY

Ice hockey: James Goodman, a graduate student in EECS from Somerville, MA; John Rae, MechE, Rockland, MA; and John Zehren, earth, atmospheric and planetary sciences, Fond du Lac, WI

Lacrosse: Gene Pyo, architecture, McLean, VA.

Varsity sailing: Robert Damus, ocean engineering, Douglaston, NY; James Berry, economics, Dover-Foxcroft, ME; and Jeffrey Doering, EECS, Valdez, AK

Skiing: Jeremy Gerstle, EECS, Franklin Lakes, NJ

Soccer: Ryan Balter, materials science and engineering (MSE), Miami; W. Lee Murfee, MechE, Tampa, FL; and Jeff Steinheider, EECS, Pittsford, NY

Swimming: Tim Cargol, EECS, Tacoma, WA; Kevin Musselwhite, CE, Madison, WI; and William Stadtlander, MechE, Dublin, OH

Tennis: Anit Chakraborty, EECS, Huntsville, AL; and James Matysczak, EECS, Exeter, PA

Indoor track: Neal Karchem, MechE, Chatsworth, CA; Michael Parkins; and Ravi Sastry

Outdoor track: Neal Karchem; Ravi Sastry; and Leif Seed, management, Corvallis, MT.


The following women are four-year letter winners.

Basketball: Victoria Best; Maisha Gray, MSE, San Francisco; and Katharine Spayde, economics, Westlake Village, CA

Crew: Mariah Luff, MSE, Oakland City, IN

Fencing: Oriana Hunter, MechE, Pittsburgh, PA; Sara Perry, urban studies and planning, Reno, NV; and Aime Wiltz, biology, Dallas

Field hockey: Connie Sadowski, management, Toms River, NJ; her sister Tracy Sadowski, CE; and Margaret Tsai, CE, Voorhees, NJ

Lacrosse: Madeline Burke, mathematics, Acton, MA; Connie Sadowski and Tracy Sadowski

Pistol: Tracey Ho, a graduate student in EECS from Singapore.

Sailing: Jennifer Kelly, brain and cognitive sciences, New Rochelle, NY

Skiing: Brooke Baker, CEE, Oneonta, NY

Softball: Anna Cherubin, EECS, Westville, OH

Soccer: Annamaria Cherubin; Olivia Cheo, CE, Port Monmouth, NJ; Aurea Maldonado, CEE, El Paso, TX; and Jessica Zysk, MSE, Hampton Falls, NH

Swimming: Deirdre Dunn and Erica Fuchs, MSE, Reading, PA

Track: Elaine Chen, MechE, Sudbury, MA

Volleyball: Michelle Fox, MechE, Grand Island, NE; and Julia Ruiz, biology, Canutillo, TX.

A version of this article appeared in the June 2, 1999 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 43, Number 32).

Related Topics

More MIT News