Skip to content ↓

Shuttle diplomacy

Photo / John Tylko

The STS-93 space shuttle crew that deployed the Chandra X-Ray Observatory in July recently visited the MIT campus and presented a large banner that flew aboard Columbia to the Chandra science team responsible for developing the observatory and managing its scientific operations. Shuttle commander Eileen Collins also presented NASA's Silver Snoopy Award to Roger Brissenden, manager of the Chandra X-Ray Center. Left to right: shuttle mission specialists Michel Tognini and Catherine "Cady" Coleman (SB 1983); Fred Wojtalik (SM 1969), Chandra program manager from the NASA Marshall Spaceflight Center; Harvey Tananbaum (PhD 1968), Chandra X-Ray Center director; STS-93 Commander Eileen Collins; and pilot Jeffrey Ashby.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on November 17, 1999.

Related Topics

More MIT News

Photo of five people seated on a stage with the MITEI logo in the background

Making hydrogen power a reality

Hydrogen fuel has long been seen as a potentially key component of a carbon-neutral future. At the 2022 MIT Energy Initiative Spring Symposium, industry experts describe efforts to produce it at scale.

Read full story