Skip to content ↓

ChemE honors 29 in department

At the Department of Chemical Engineering's annual awards ceremony on May 10 in Gilliland Auditorium, the following awards were presented:

In conjunction with the Student Financial Aid Office, Amoco Foundation Undergraduate Scholarships were acknowledged for sophomores Stefan K. Bewley of Atascadero, CA; Steve P. Lamontagne of Whitinsville, MA; Carla M. Merritt of Raleigh, NC; and Eboney J.N. Smith of Columbus, OH. The James E. Cunningham '57 Scholarship went to Alice H. Choi, a junior from Morton Grove, IL, while the John H. Dessauer Scholarship went to Kira E. Marciniak, a senior from Spokane, WA.

Merck Fellowships were acknowledged for Nikolas O. Kozy, a sophomore from Pittsburgh, PA; and Luwam G. Semere, a sophomore from Buffalo, NY. Amy C. Lee, a junior from Columbia, MO, was also recognized for her receipt of a Goldwater Fellowship.

The Dow Chemical Co. Outstanding Junior Award recipient was Matthew J. Alvarado, a junior from Raymore, MO, for his balanced record of achievement in academics and campus professional and social organizations, as well as work experience.

The Robert T. Haslam Cup was awarded to Jeffrey C. Munro, a senior from Herndon, VA, for outstanding professional promise in chemical engineering.

The Roger de Friez Hunneman Prize, the oldest prize in the department (begun in 1927), was awarded to Jeffrey M. Davis, a senior from Ludlow, MA, in recognition of outstanding scholarship and research.

The Edward W. Merrill Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award was presented to Terry D. Johnson, a graduate student from Clinton Township, MI, for excellence in teaching in an undergraduate subject. A second-place award went to Catherine B. Labelle, a graduate student from Hudson, MA.

Chemical Engineering Department Special Service Awards were given to Casim A. Sarkar, a graduate student from Baton Rouge, LA; Lily Y. Koo, a graduate student from Dover, NJ; and Kevin T. Musselwhite, a senior from Madison, MS, for their unselfish contributions to the success of departmental activities.

The Chemical Engineering "ROCK" Award for outstanding athletics, as voted by the graduate students of the department, went to Jennifer T. Fujii, a graduate student from Sunnyvale, CA; and Casim A. Sarkar. Ms. Fujii is the first woman to receive this award.

The Outstanding Employee Award was presented to Stephen J. Malley, an administrative assistant in the Chemical Engineering/Materials Science Administrative Services Organization, for his exceptional service to the departmental faculty, staff and students.

The Outstanding Faculty Award from the graduate students was presented to Professor William M. Deen. Undergraduate students in the department presented an Outstanding Faculty Award to Professor C. Michael Mohr.

Individual Accomplishment Citations were presented to systems programmer Peter J. Maloof and Catherine B. Labelle for their outstanding contributions to departmental life. They were recipients of the fourth offering of this special award, and each received a personalized citation signed by the department head.

Several undergraduates in chemical engineering were also recognized for their induction into the honorary engineering society, Tau Beta Pi.

Professor Robert C. Armstrong, head of the department, acknowledged departmental recipients of awards from the MIT Awards Convocation on May 5 (see awards story). They included junior Rita H. Lin of Scarsdale, NY, winner of a William L. Stewart Jr. Award; junior Dolores Cruz of Amherst, MA, winner of an Albert G. Hill Prize; senior Deirdre K. Dunn of Weston, MA, winner of the Betsy Schumacker Award; senior Joel Morales of Corpus Christi, TX, winner of the Howard W. Johnson Award; and administrative secretary Carol Phillips, a recipient of the James N. Murphy Award.

A version of this article appeared in the June 2, 1999 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 43, Number 32).

Related Topics

More MIT News