Skip to content ↓

Widnall to chair panel reviewing changes to MIT pension plan

Professor Sheila E. Widnall of the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics has been appointed to chair a subcommittee of the Faculty Policy Committee. The group is charged to study the pension plan changes now being contemplated to increase options and improve member services, to understand the tax code requirements needed to continue to maintain the tax qualification of the pension plan, and to provide MIT with stronger protections under ERISA, the pension law.

Professor Lotte Bailyn, chair of the faculty, announced the committee members. They are Peter A. Diamond, Institute Professor in the Department of Economics; Paul E. Gray, president emeritus and professor of electrical engineering and computer science; Henry D. Jacoby, the William Pounds Professor of Management (as chairman of the Committee on Faculty Administration); Edwin L. Thomas, the Morris Cohen Professor of Material Science (representing the Faculty Policy Committee); and Roy E. Welsch, professor of statistics and management science (as past chairman of the Committee on Faculty Administration).

Rosalind E. Wood, administrative assistant in the Provost's Office, is the staff to the committee. The committee is to make a written report to the Faculty Policy Committee.

Professor Widnall may be contacted on the matter via e-mail at

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on November 18, 1998.

Related Topics

More MIT News