Skip to content ↓

MacVicar nominations invited

Provost Robert A. Brown has invited members of the MIT community to submit nominations for the 1999 MacVicar Faculty Fellowships.

"I hope that you will encourage the nomination of outstanding faculty," Provost Brown said in a memo circulated to members of the Academic Council and department and section heads on September 16.

Nominations must be received by the provost by Friday, Oct. 30. Members of the MIT community--including undergraduates--may nominate candidates through department or section heads.

The new Fellows are appointed by the provost with advice from a committee made up of current MacVicar Fellows, faculty and undergraduates. Each nomination should consist of a letter documenting the nominee's contributions and no more than three supporting letters.

All faculty are eligible for the fellowship, which provides $5,000 annually for each Fellow's 10-year term to support educational activities, research, travel and other scholarly expenses.

The fellowship program, created in 1992, honors Margaret MacVicar, former dean for undergraduate education, who died in 1991 at age 47. The purpose is to recognize and enhance outstanding contributions to undergraduate education at MIT.

There are currently 31 MacVicar Fellows. They are: Professors Harold Abelson, electrical engineering and computer science (EECS); Thomas J. Allen, Sloan School; Richard P. Binzel, earth, atmospheric and planetary sciences (EAPS); Gene M. Brown, biology; Wit Busza, physics; Sylvia T. Ceyer, chemistry; Edward F. Crawley, aeronautics and astronautics; Rick L. Danheiser, chemistry; John M. Essigmann, chemistry and toxicology; Woodie C. Flowers, mechanical engineering; Thomas J. Greytak, physics; Robert L. Jaffe, physics; and Daniel S. Kemp, chemistry.

Also Monty Krieger, biology; Paul A. Lagace, aero/astro; Lowell E. Lindgren, music and theater arts; Ole S. Madsen, civil and environmental engineering; Arthur P. Mattuck, mathematics; Alan V. Oppenheim, EECS; Margery Resnick, foreign languages and literatures; Michael F. Rubner, materials science and engineering (MSE); Donald R. Sadoway, MSE; Robert J. Silbey, chemistry; John B. Southard, EAPS; Arthur Steinberg, anthropology and archaeology; Charles H. Stewart III, political science; Irene Tayler, literature; Marcus A. Thompson, music and theater arts; Graham C. Walker, biology; James H. Williams, Jr., mechanical engineering; and August F. Witt, MSE.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on September 30, 1998.

Related Topics

More MIT News