Skip to content ↓

MIT holidays announced

The following are recognized Institute holidays through the end of 1999 with the dates on which the holidays are observed:

Labor Day -- Monday, September 7, 1998
Columbus Day -- Monday, October 12, 1998
Veterans Day -- Wednesday, November 11, 1998
Thanksgiving Day -- Thursday, November 26, 1998
Day after Thanksgiving Friday, November 27, 1998
Christmas Day -- Friday, December 25, 1998
New Year's Day -- Friday, January 1, 1999
Martin Luther King Jr. Day -- Monday, January 18, 1999
Presidents Day -- Monday, February 15, 1999
Patriots Day -- Monday, April 19, 1999
Memorial Day -- Monday, May 31, 1999
Independence Day -- Monday, July 5, 1999
Labor Day -- Monday, September 6, 1999
Columbus Day -- Monday, October 11, 1999
Veterans Day -- Thursday, November 11, 1999
Thanksgiving Day -- Thursday, November 25, 1999
Christmas Day -- Friday, December 24, 1999
Day before New Year's Friday, December 31, 1999
New Year's Day -- Monday, January 3, 2000

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on September 23, 1998.

Related Topics

More MIT News

Music video screenshot showing about 20 rectangular boxes on a black background featuring MIT Syncopasian members singing

A cappella for a cause

MIT Syncopasian’s musical performance features the poem “Things We Carry On The Sea” by Wang Ping and invites Asian members of the MIT community to help celebrate AAPI Heritage Month.

Read full story