Skip to content ↓

Chemical engineering honors 20

The Department of Chemical Engineering's annual awards ceremony was held on May 11 in Gilliland Auditorium with Professor Robert C. Armstrong, department head, presiding. The following awards were presented:

In conjunction with the Student Financial Aid Office, an Amoco Foundation Undergraduate Scholarship was acknowledged for recipient Todd C. Bailey, a senior from Somerville, MA; the James E. Cunningham '57 Scholarship for Rodney Ziesemann, a senior from Denver, CO; and the John H. Dessauer Scholarship for Alisha L. Sieminski, a senior from Everett, WA.

Merck Fellowships were won by Lisa Y. Hwang, a junior from Duncanville, TX, and Benjamin D. Martens, a sophomore from Concordia, MO. A host of honors were noted for Robert B. Gray, a senior from Columbia, SC, including his recent Marshall Scholarship.

The Dow Chemical Co. Outstanding Junior Award recipient was Kevin T. Musselwhite, a junior from Madison, MS, for his balanced record of achievement in academics and campus professional and social organizations, as well as work experience.

The Robert T. Haslam Cup was awarded to Eric D. Nelson, a senior from Brookline, MA, for outstanding professional promise in chemical engineering.

The Roger de Friez Hunneman Prize, the oldest prize in the department (begun in 1927), was awarded to Weiyang Cheong, a senior from Singapore, in recognition of outstanding scholarship and research.

The Edward W. Merrill Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award was presented to Andrey Zarur, a graduate student from Mexico, for excellence in teaching in an undergraduate subject. A second-place award went to Rebecca L. Carrier, a graduate student from Bolton, CT.

Chemical Engineering Department Special Service Awards were given to David M. DeWitt, a graduate student from Albuquerque, NM; Ann E. Schmitz, a graduate student from Marquette Heights, IL; and Samantha L. Lavery, a senior from Livonia, MI, for their unselfish contributions to the success of departmental activities.

The 25th annual Chemical Engineering "ROCK" Award for outstanding athletics, as voted by the department's graduate students, went to S. Patrick Walton, a graduate student from Cambridge, MA and Mr. DeWitt.

The Outstanding Employee Award was presented to Emmi L. Snyder, an administrative secretary in departmental headquarters, for her exceptional service to the departmental faculty, staff and students.

The Outstanding Faculty Award from the graduate students was presented to Professor Daniel Blank-schtein. Undergraduate students in the department presented an Outstanding Faculty Award to Professor C. Michael Mohr.

Individual Accomplishment Citations were presented to Jean Francois Hamel, research engineer and lecturer, and Joan A. Chisholm, administrative secretary, for their outstanding contributions to departmental life. They were recipients of the third offering of this special award, and each received a personalized citation signed by Professor Armstrong.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 3, 1998.

Related Topics

More MIT News