Skip to content ↓

28 associate profs named

The Executive Commitee of the MIT Corporation has approved the promotions of 28 assistant professors to associate professor without tenure, effective July 1. They are:

School of Architecture and Planning

Architecture: Qingyan Chen, Ellen Dunhan-Jones

Media Arts and Sciences: Aaron Bobick

Urban Studies and Planning: Timothy Riddiough

School of Engineering

Aeronautics and Astronautics: Dava J. Newman

Civil and Environmental Engineering: Patricia J. Culligan-Hensley, Elfatih A.B. Eltahir

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science: Anantha P. Chandrakasan, Dennis M. Freeman, David R. Karger, Bernard C. Lesieutre, Seth J. Teller

Mechanical Engineering: Zaichun (Frank) Feng, Douglas P. Hart, Seth Lloyd, Kevin N. Otto

School of Humanities and Social Science

Economics: Jorn-Steffen Pischke

History: Heather C. Richardson

Linguistics and Philosophy: Kai von Fintel

Political Science: Daniel T. Kryder

Sloan School of Management

Simon Johnson

School of Science

Biology: Stephen Bell, Jun Liu

Chemistry: Gregory C. Fu

Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences: Robert D. van der Hilst

Mathematics: Alan Edelman

Physics: Raymond C. Ashoori, Leslie J. Rosenberg

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on May 6, 1998.

Related Topics

More MIT News

Cindy Heredia poses and smiles at the camera, sitting on her teams’ white, blue, and red driverless race car at the Indy Autonomous Challenge

Driven to driverless

Cindy Alejandra Heredia’s journey from Laredo, Texas, took her to leading the MIT autonomous vehicle team and to an MBA from MIT Sloan.

Read full story