Skip to content ↓

MIT professor awarded highest logistics honor

Presentation coincides with announcement of new MIT degree
Press Inquiries

Press Contact:

Sarah H. Wright
Phone: 617-258-5400
MIT News Office

CAMBRIDGE, MASS -- Yossi Sheffi, Director of MIT's Center for Transportation Studies, was presented with the Distinguished Service Award of the Council of Logistics Management (CLM) at their annual meeting October 5 in Chicago.

The award, presented annually to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the art and science of logistics management, is the highest honor that can be bestowed upon an individual for achievements in logistics, according to the CLM. The presentation of the award coincides with the recent announcement of a new MIT program in logistics, initiated by Professor Sheffi, which will admit its first master's students in September 1998.

"The CLM award is a special honor because it represents both industry and academe. I am grateful to the staff at the MIT Center for Transportation Studies to my wonderful students at MIT over the years and to the supportive colleagues," said Professor Sheffi.

In presenting the award to the crowd of over 6,300, Larry Sur, President of Schneider Logistics, said: "This year's winner represents a unique combination of contributions ranging from science to engineering and management, from theory to practice, and from developing processes for large corporations to entrepreneurial activities. He has proven that industry experience can make one a better researcher and teacher while a strong theoretical background can make one a better practitioner."

While teaching full time for the last nineteen years, Professor Sheffi developed two successful companies -- LogiCorp, a contract logistics firm, and PTCG, a transportation software company -- while also authoring a text book and numerous scientific publications in operations research, carrier operations and planning, logistics management and network theory.

Professor Sheffi's scientific contributions include innovative decision support systems for carrier operations and the development of logistics concepts and processes now used by leading shippers in the US, Europe and Japan. Meanwhile, under his leadership, the MIT Center for Transportation Studies has more than doubled the number of its students, increased research volume by an order of magnitude and tripled the number of its corporate affiliates.

The CLM Distinguished Service Award was established in 1965 by the Drake Sheahan Division of Main Hurdman in honor of one of its founding partners. Previous recipients include James Heskett, Professor of Business Logistics at Harvard University (1974); Bob Packwood, Chairman of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science & Transportation, US Senate (1984); Frederick Smith, CEO/Chairman of Federal Express (1989); and Larry Mulkey, President of Ryder Integrated Logistics (1996).

Related Topics

More MIT News