Skip to content ↓

55 join ranks of PBK

Fifty-five seniors were elected to MIT's Xi Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa this year. Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa honors undergraduates who have performed outstandingly in the liberal arts and sciences.

A lecture and initiation ceremony will be held Thursday, June 6, and is open to all Phi Beta Kappa members at MIT, wherever initiated. This year's lecture will be by Pauline Maier, William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of History at MIT, and is entitled "...'All Men are Created Equal': A Brief History." The lecture will begin at 2:30pm in the Bartos Theater and will be followed by the initiation ceremony and a reception for the new members.

The new members divided by department are as follows.

Aeronautics and Astronautics--Gregory G. Richardson of Natick, MA.

Biology--Joel Budman of Need-ham, MA; Lina Chen of Derwood MD; Karyn J. Cheng of Potomac, MD; Sophie C. Currier of Cambridge; Suma Dutta of North York, Ontario; Amit Etkin of Brookline, MA; Melina C. Fan of Chestnut Hill, MA; Yanwen M. Hu of Cambridge; Erin M. Janssen of Farmington, MI; Betty Nyein of Syosset, NY; Rebecca A. Perlow of Hampton Bays, NY; Avital A. Rodal of Ottawa, Ontario; Amy Schwartz of Cambridge; Leejee H. Suh of Flushing, NY; Mayukh V. Sukhatme of Vadnais Heights, MN; Daisuke Tsujimoto of Newport Beach, CA, and Graham I. Warden of Cambridge.

Brain and Cognitive Sciences--Aphrodite A. Kakouros of Brooklyn, NY, and Grant W. Su of Boston.

Chemical Engineering--Weiyang Cheong of Singapore; Yi Hung Li of Parsippany, NJ; Stanley L. Liauw of Denville, NJ; Ritesh A. Shah of Burr Ridge, IL; Jerry W. Tsong of North Caldwell, NJ, and Elaine H. Wong of Kowloon, Hong Kong.

Chemistry--Doris Lin of Engle-wood Cliffs, NJ, and Junko Tamiya of Tokyo.

Economics--Richard Y. Lee of Miami; Daniel J. Witalec of Heath, OH, and Sung Jun Woo of Ellicott City, MD.

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science--Anthony J. Accardi of Somerset, NJ; Derek L. Bruening of West Valley City, UT; Debajit Ghosh of Exton, PA; Kenneth S. Hon of Watchung, NJ; Kenneth B.Russell of New York, NY, and Emilija M. Simic of Belgrade, Yugoslavia.

Management--Rishi Shrivastava of Troy, MI, and Nancy B. Wu of Van Nuys, CA.

Materials Science and Engineering--Neil T. Jenkins of Nashport, OH.

Mathematics--Pramod N. Achar of Memphis, TN; Benjamin A. Ellis of McLean, VA; Ilya Shlyakhter of Brookline, MA, and Aleksey Zinger of Epping, Australia.

Mechanical Engineering--Benjamin C. Matteo of Pleasantville, NY and Jason S. Nogueira of Cumberland, RI.

Physics--Iosif L. Bena of Buch-arest, Rumania; Masahiro Ishigami of Merion Station, PA; James R. Kiger of Monroeville, PA; Minjoon Kouh of Norton, MA; Patrick K. Mang of Rochester, NY; Charles M. Santori of Scottsdale, AZ; Charles K. Sestok of Birmingham, MI, and Huan Yao of Waipahu, HI.

Political Science--Jason M. Strautman of San Antonio, TX.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 4, 1997.

Related Topics

More MIT News