Skip to content ↓

Dean of Science Birgeneau Wins Magnetism Award

Press Inquiries

Press Contact:

Sarah H. Wright
Phone: 617-258-5400
MIT News Office

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.--MIT Dean of Science Dr. Robert J. Birgeneau has been awarded the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) Magnetism Award for 1997. This is the second such award. The first was given in 1994 to two French scientists.

Dean Birgeneau, a Professor of Physics at MIT since 1975 and Dean of Science since 1991, is a leader in the field of condensed-matter physics. Appointed the Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Physics in 1982, Dean Birgeneau was cited in the IUPAP award for his "achievements in the field of magnetism and in particular, for the identification of model magnetic systems and the experimental elucidation of their behavior by means of scattering techniques."

Dean Birgeneau's principal research interest has been the phase-transition behavior of novel states of matter. Before coming to MIT, he worked at Bell Laboratories (1968-1974). He has also served as a senior guest scientist at Brookhaven National Laboratory, where he devised a program in scattering that used a beam of neutrons from the reactor at Brookhaven to probe the microscopic structure of matter. More recently, also at Brookhaven, Birgeneau and his students developed the field of synchrotron magnetic x-ray scattering for the study of magnetic phase changes.

In 1987, Birgeneau and three colleagues at Brookhaven made pioneering discoveries about the physics underlying high temperature superconductivity, inspiring optimism for achieving the same results at much higher temperatures.

Dean Birgeneau's collaborators have included MIT physics Professor Marc Kastner, G. Shirane (Brookhaven), J.Als-Nielson (Copenhagen), R.A.Cowley (Oxford), and Y. Endoh (Tohoku), all of whom have "significantly enhanced the caliber of his experiments. However, he has played a leading role, especially in the conception and design of the experiments," said Professor Kastner.

Dean Birgeneau commented, "Of course, I am delighted by this recognition by IUPAP of our research efforts on magnetic phase transitions here at MIT. I am especially grateful to Marc Kastner and two former graduate students, John Hill and Martin Greven, who have each contributed in a fundamental way to our collaborative work over the past several years. Frankly, it is also nice that I have to go to the Great Barrier Reef to receive the award."

The IUPAP Magnestism Award will be presented at the International Conference on Magnetism in Cairns, Australia, in July, 1997. Dr. Birgeneau lives in Weston, Mass.

Related Topics

More MIT News