Skip to content ↓

EECS gives awards to 34

The Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science presented awards to 32 students or former students and two staff members at the department's annual spring party last month at Boston's Museum of Science.

Five graduate students won departmental awards for teaching excellence. Matthew J. Secor of San Diego received the Carlton E. Tucker Award; Cynara C. Wu of McLean, VA, received the Harold L. Hazen Award; and Brian M. Perreault of Cambridge, Patrick LoPresti of Watertown, MA, and Holly A. Yanco of Somerville, MA, received Frederick C. Hennie III Awards.

Babak Ayazifar of Cambridge won promotion to Instructor-G.

Two former graduate students were recipients of the George M. Sprowls Scholarship Fund: Paul Viola and Daniel Speilman, now at the University of California at Berkeley.

Six students received Northern Telecom/BNR Project Awards. Spring term winners were Steven E. Czerwinski, a junior from New Lenox, IL, Stephen J. Schlueter, a junior from Olympia, WA, and Hsiang C. Chuu, a junior from Bayville, NY. Fall term recipients were Charles J. Cavazos, a senior from El Paso, TX; Susan M. Dacy, a junior from Hudson, FL, and Alice Wang, a junior from Melville, NY.

Six graduate students won Morris Joseph Levin-Best MasterWorks Oral Thesis Presentation Awards: Raymond C. Chan of Baltimore, James T. Kao of Playa del Rey, CA, Mohammad J. Khan of Carmel, IN, Edward C.F. Lovelace of Somerville, MA, Thomas E. Murphy of Falls Church, VA, and Su W. Teoh of El Toro, CA.

George C. Newton Undergraduate Laboratory Prizes were presented to three seniors: Amit G. Bagchi of Potomac, MD, Christopher A. Fuchs of Fairfield, NJ, and Tan T. Trinh of Lafayette, LA.

The David A. Chanen Writing Award was presented to Debajit Ghosh, a junior from Exton, PA.

Daniel K. Hartman of Fond du Lac, WI, and Matthew N. Condell of Argyle, NY, received Charles and Jennifer Johnson Thesis Prizes. The William A. Martin Memorial Thesis Prize went to Russell S. Schwartz of Old Greenwich, CT. Naimish S. Patel of North Andover, MA, received the David Adler Memorial Thesis Prize and Ernst A. Guillemin Thesis Awards were presented to Steve J. Steiner of Miami, Jayson D. Strayer of St. Petersburg, FL, and Anant Sahai of Thousand Oaks, CA.

The Robert A. Fano UROP Award was presented to Daniel L. Rosenband, a junior from Gottingen, Germany.

Marilyn A. Pierce of Boston, the department's Graduate Office administrator, received the Richard J. Caloggero Award. James P. Byrne, a project machinist from Carlisle, MA, was the recipient of a Department Special Award.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 5, 1996.

Related Topics

More MIT News