Skip to content ↓

Awards and Honors

The Center for Real Estate presented the 1995 Spaulding Award for outstanding professional achievement by a graduate to William D. Browning '91 at the winter meeting of the Center's membership in Cambridge. Mr. Browning is director of Green Development Services for the Rocky Mountain Institute in Snowmass, CO. The award was established in 1992 to honor Hank Spaulding, the Center's founder and first chairman.

Dr. Gerbrand Ceder, Alcoa Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, has won the 1996 Robert Landing Hardy Award given by the Minerals, Metals and Materials Society.

The award recognizes "a young person in the broad field of metallurgy for exceptional promise of a successful career."

Dr. Ceder received the MS degree in metallurgy and materials science from the Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium, in 1988, graduating as top student of 350 engineers. He received the PhD in materials science at the University of California in Berkeley in 1991, the year he joined the MIT faculty.

His research interests are computational materials science, thermodynamics and phase transitions, phase diagram computations, lattice dynamics, conductivity in oxides and electronic ceramics.

His past honors and awards include the Charles Reed Faculty Initiative Award from MIT in 1993, the Andre Deruyttere Prize in 1992 (awarded every two years for the best publication in an area of research that is of interest to the Materials Science Department at the Katolieke Universiteit at Leuven, Belgium), the AT&T New Research Award in 1992 and the Proctor and Gamble Technical Thesis Award in 1988.

He was a visiting professor in the postgraduate physics program at Katolieke Universiteit in 1993, and an investigator on the project, "Oxygen Ordering in High Tc Superconductors" that was a winner of the "Outstanding Scientific Accomplishments in Metallurgy and Ceramics" award in the Department of Energy's 1990 Materials Science and Research Division competition.

His memberships include the Materials Research Society, American Physics Society, American Ceramics Society, Belgian-American Educational Foundation and the Royal Flemish Society of Engineers.

Three undergraduates in the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics have received awards as part of their financial aid this year, Professor Earll M. Murman, the department head, has announced.

Christian L. Anderson, a junior, received the James H. Doolittle Scholarship established by Allied Signal Corporation in honor of General James H. Doolittle-aviation pioneer, World War II hero who led the first air raid over Japan and recipient of a PhD from the department in 1925-for his contributions to commercial aviation. Mr. Anderson was cited for his "excellent academic record and breadth of interests."

Dennis A. Burianek, a senior, was awarded the John F. McCarthy, Jr. Memorial Fund Scholarship in recognition of "superior scholarship achievement. your potential of being an admired contributor to the progress of American aviation, and your open attitude about life in general."

The fund was established in 1986 by friends and family of Dr. McCarthy, a former professor in the department, director of NASA's Lewis Research Center and vice president of Rockwell International.

Corinne R. Ilvedson, a senior, received the James E. Cunningham '57 Memorial Scholarship Fund, which provides support for women undergraduates at MIT "in recognition of the importance of women's roles in engineering and in support of their educational endeavors." The criteria for the award are "superior scholarship achievement, hard work, seriousness, immersion in work and help to others to improve their skills."

One of MIT's most famous alumni, world-renowned architect I.M. Pei, will soon add a new award to his many honors.

He has been selected to receive the Municipal Art Society of New York's highest honor, the Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Medal, given to an individual who by his or her work has made an outstanding contribution to the City of New York in the field of architecture, urban design and planning, and the arts. The award will be presented on February 27 by the late Mrs. Onassis' two children, John F. Kennedy, Jr., and Caroline Kennedy Schlossberg.

Mr. Pei, who received the BA in architecture from MIT in 1940, has designed some of the world's best-known structures, including the Pyramid of the Louvre in Paris, the National Gallery of Art in Washington, DC, and the John F. Kennedy Library in Boston.

He is best known for his use of simple, sculptural forms and his devotion to rigorous geometry.

His talent has contributed to the MIT campus in his design of four buildings, all within a few hundred feet of each other-the Wiesner Building (E15), the Green Building (54), the Landau Building (66) and the Dreyfus Building (18).

Related Topics

More MIT News