Skip to content ↓

Sloan Foundation awards go to six

Six MIT scientists have been selected as recipients of this year's Sloan Fellowships, awards given by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation to outstanding young scientists.

The MIT scientists who received Fellowships are Tomas Arias and Takashi Imai of physics, Michel Goemans and Andras Szenes of mathematics, Jonathan Gruber of economics, James Williamson of chemistry and Matthew Wilson of brain and cognitive sciences.

Each awardee receives $30,000 for a two-year period; the funds are administered by the recipients' home institutions and can be used to pursue whatever lines of inquiry that most interest the scientists. More than 400 researchers were nominated to receive 100 awards, which have been given out to more than 3,000 people since 1955. Seventeen former Sloan Fellows have won the Nobel prize.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on April 12, 1995.

Related Topics

More MIT News