Skip to content ↓

Sloan acknowledges students, faculty

The annual Faculty and Student Appreciation Day at the Sloan School recognized the achievements of the master's Class of '95 and the sense of community that many helped to build.

Sloan's endowed merit scholarships are awarded to second-year master's students who have shown strong leadership and dedicated contribution to the Sloan community.

The Martin Trust Community Fellowship Program was established by Martin Trust, SM '58, to recognize students whose contribution, through extracurricular or academic participation, has had a profound impact on the lives of their classmates and the Sloan community. Five were selected this year.

Deborah J. Bein of Yonkers, NY, was recognized for her leadership and commitment to the community through her extensive work in the Graduate Management Society, the Operations Club, the Sloan women's hockey team, orientation and the Japan/Korea trip.

James L. Burger of New York City was honored for his enthusiasm and leadership in Sloan sports including football, basketball, softball, and frisbee, and for his ability to encourage athletes of all levels to participate.

Daniel A. DiSano of Melrose, MA, made contributions that included serving on the executive committee of the Senate, working on orientation, acting as an Ambassador and Amigo, serving on strategy track committees and founding the tennis club.

Martha A. Geisler of Jamaica Plain, MA, was a leader in the volunteer consulting group and in Students for Responsible Management, oversaw the Amiga/Amigo program, and ran the Boston Marathon on behalf of the Massachusetts Special Olympics.

James D. McIntosh of Cambridge was noted for solid behind-the-scenes service in the Graduate Management Society and for his role in the 10K competition, as a TA and with the Japan/Korea trip.

The Miriam Sherburne Scholarship was established to honor a woman who, through 51 years of service to the School and the Master's Program, consistently worked to create the best environment for her students. This year's recipient was Susannah Hill of Boston for her work on orientation, as a member of the Master's Program Committee, and with the Marketing Club and Women's Hockey Team.

The Henry B. du Pont III Scholarship honors students for leadership and achievement. This year's honoree, Dianna Magnani of Boston, served as co-president of the Management Consulting Club and on the executive committees of both the Student Senate and the strategy track.

The Henry Ford II Scholarship was established by the Ford Foundation to honor leadership and contribution. For managing the Senate budget committee and the yearbook, serving as a TA, and participating in orientation, Sloan sports and a variety of clubs, the 1995 Ford Scholar was Deslie A. Webb of Melbourne, FL.

The Seley Scholarships recognize students who consistently show outstanding leadership and an exceptional level of contribution to the lives of others. This year's Seley Scholars are Wilder J. Leavitt of Enfield, CT, and Angelika S. Mayman of West Newton, MA.

Mr. Leavitt put his personal management philosophy into action through City Year, Students for Responsible Management, and the Sloan Leaders organization. He was a co-director of this year's Eastern Europe trip, and participated in Sloan Ambassadors and in orientation.

Ms. Mayman excels at teamwork: she co-chaired orientation,the Marketing Club and co-directs the Sloan Ambassadors. She created the marketing resume book, played a key role in Open House, and worked on both the year-end formal and the Sloan Follies.

The Outstanding Teaching Assistant this year in the eyes of the student community was Tom Svrcek of Morton Grove, IL. Mr. Svrcek assisted Professors Freund and Nguyen with Data, Models and Decisions, and Professor Barnett with Intermediate and Advanced Statistics, making an impact on hundreds of students.


Based on student vote, the Alumni/ae Award for innovation and excellence in management education is awarded to professors considered to be the outstanding teachers of the year. A record 28 faculty members received nominations. This year's recipients were C. Peter Wilson, visiting associate professor of management, and Arnold I. Barnett, professor of operations research and management.

Dr. Wilson, who arrived at Sloan this year, quickly became well-known for his teaching in the master's core accounting class and in Financial Statement Analysis. Nominators said: "Pete has a passion for teaching and it shows. Best teacher I've ever had." "He made an impact on each and every student that walked into his classroom."

Dr. Barnett teaches, in the words of one nominator, "the world's only entertaining stats class!" Some worried that moving his Intermediate Statistics course from core to elective would prove a problem-not so, in fact, as the free market has proved. "Arnie's strength lies in his ability to make people understand and even appreciate statistics. It is apparent that he wants his students to learn," a nominator wrote.

Also honored for excellence in teaching were Robert M. Freund, Nanyang Technological University Senior Professor; Rebecca M. Henderson, associate professor of management; Robert S. Pindyck, Mitsubishi Bank Professor of Economics and Finance, and Jeremy Stein, J.C. Penney Professor of Finance.

Dr. Freund was nominated for his work in Data, Models and Decisions. "Rob combined thorough knowledge of statistics and management with humor and sensitivity to students, which resulted in an enjoyable and extremely beneficial course," one letter said.

Dr. Henderson received nominations for her work in both Strategic Management and Technology Strategy. She was cited for "her incredible enthusiasm and for caring about getting the best out of each student in the class."

Dr. Pindyck was nominated for his core course Economic Analysis for Business Decisions. In the words of one nominator, "Professor Pindyck has an enormous power to love the subject and to teach students his beliefs. I could feel it. He was outstanding."

Dr. Stein launched his new dual course in Corporate Finance this year to rave reviews. "An excellent professor, he was always incredibly well prepared. Very sound theoretically and put a lot of effort into his teaching," a nominator wrote.

Lynne E. SylesworthSloan School


Course XV cites two

Two seniors at the Sloan School of Management will share the 1995 Senior Prize: Shraddha V. Dalal of Ramsey, NJ, a management science major, and Philip W. Tracadas of San Bernardino, CA, a double major in management science and earth, atmospheric and planetary sciences. The prize is presented to outstanding students in management who demonstrate leadership and professional promise.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 7, 1995.

Related Topics

More MIT News