Skip to content ↓

NAE elects six faculty

The National Academy of Engineering has announced that six MIT faculty members have been elected to the NAE this year. They are:

Dr. Arthur B. Baggeroer, Ford Professor of Engineering and professor of electrical and ocean engineering.

Dr. Edward M. Greitzer, H. Nelson Slater Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics and director of the Gas Turbine Laboratory.

Dr. Richard H. Lyon, professor of mechanical engineering.

Dr. Jerome H. Milgram, William I. Koch Professor of Marine Technology.

Dr. William F. Schreiber, professor emeritus of electrical engineering.

Dr. Thomas B. Sheridan, Ford Professor of Engineering, professor of engineering and applied psychology, professor of aeronautics and astronautics, and head of the Human-Machine Systems Laboratory.

The elections bring to 103 the number of MIT active and emeriti/ae faculty elected to NAE, which chose 77 US members and eight foreign associates this year. This brings the total US membership to 1,790 and the number of foreign associates to 151.

Election to the Academy is among the highest professional distinctions accorded an engineer. Academy membership honors "those who have made important contributions to engineering theory and practice, including significant contributions to the literature of engineering theory and practice, and those who have demonstrated unusual accomplishment in the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology."

The citations by the NAE for the new MIT members were as follows:

Dr. Baggeroer-For contributions in signal processing applied to sonar.

Dr. Greitzer-For contributions to aircraft gas-turbine compressor aerodynamics and leadership of the MIT Gas Turbine Laboratory.

Dr. Lyon-For development of statistical energy analysis and machinery diagnostic techniques.

Dr. Milgram-For design of sailing vessels and solutions to such ocean engineering issues as environmental impact and towing dynamics.

Dr. Schreiber-For contributions to image-processing, television technology, video compression and color graphics.

Dr. Sheridan-For contributions to understanding and supporting human interaction with automated systems in space aviation, nuclear power and undersea exploration.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on February 15, 1995.

Related Topics

More MIT News