Skip to content ↓

Chemical engineering bestows honors on 17

The Department of Chemical Engineering's annual award ceremony was held on Monday, May 15 in Gilliland Auditorium with Professor and Department Chairman Robert A. Brown presiding. The following awards were presented:

The Dunbar L. Shanklin undergraduate scholarships in chemical engineering for 1994-95 to Winnie Y. Lo, a junior from Houston, TX, and Anthony R. Nole, a junior from Bloomfield, NJ.

In conjunction with the Student Financial Aid Office, Amoco Foundation Undergraduate Scholarships were acknowledged for recipients Celia Huey, a junior from Jamaica, NY, and Anthony R. Nole (see above). The John H. Dessauer and James E. Cunningham Memorial Scholarships were acknowledged for recipient Jessica R. Oleson, a junior from Auburn, MA.

The Dow Chemical Company Outstanding Junior Award recipient was Aaron P. Reichl, a junior from Blooming Prairie, MN, for his balanced record of achievement in academics and campus professional and social organizations, as well as work experience.

The Robert T. Haslam Cup was awarded to Brett W. Bader, a senior from Albuquerque, NM, for outstanding professional promise in chemical engineering.

The Roger de Friez Hunneman Prize, the oldest prize in the department (begun in 1927), was awarded to Patrick M. Piccione, a senior from Sweden, in recognition of outstanding scholarship and research.

Doron Levin, a graduate student from South Africa, received the Edward W. Merrill Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award for excellence in teaching in an undergraduate subject. A second-place award went to Kevin M. Parker, a graduate student from Lincoln, RI.

Chemical Engineering Department Special Service Awards were given to graduate students Joao Paulo Aumond of Sao Paulo, Brazil; Christopher J. Dowd Jr. of Wilmington, DE, and Randy D. Weinstein of Wyncote, PA, and to Nancy M. Ho, a senior from New Paltz, NY, for their unselfish contributions to the success of departmental activities.

The Chemical Engineering "ROCK" Award for outstanding athletics, as voted by the graduate students of the department went to Chase E. Orsello, a graduate student from North Saint Paul, MN.

The Outstanding Employee Award was presented to Arline Benford, an administrative assistant in chemical engineering headquarters, for her exceptional service to the department and its students.

The Outstanding Faculty Award from the graduate students was presented to Professor Edward W. Merrill. Undergraduate students in the department presented an Outstanding Faculty Award to Professor C. Michael Mohr.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 7, 1995.

Related Topics

More MIT News