Skip to content ↓

Six garner biology awards

Jeremy S. Poppers, a junior in biology from Old Field, NY, was one of three recipients to share the John L. Asinari Award. Seniors Sejal Shah of Port Jefferson, NY, and Smruti J. Vidwans of Pune, India, were the other two recipients. The award was established in memory of John L. Asinari, Class of 1975, to recognize outstanding undergraduate research in life sciences. Ms. Vidwans also received the first Salvador E. Luria Prize honoring outstanding scholarship and research of publication quality.

Yvonne R. Chan, a senior in biology from Eatontown, NJ, is the 1995 recipient of the Whitehead Prize, which is awarded for showing outstanding promise for a career in biological research as demonstrated by academic scholarship and contributions to research and the MIT community.

Christina A. Onufryk, a senior in biology from Flanders, NJ, received the first Ned Holt Prize given to a biology major who demonstrates excellence in scholarship and service to the MIT community. Christina also received the Association of MIT Alumnae Award.

The biology department also recognized Joseph A. Veys, a senior from Lakewood, KS, who received the Parke A. and Ann L. Hodges Prize in writing, recognizing achievement in fulfilling part of the writing requirement.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 7, 1995.

Related Topics

More MIT News