Skip to content ↓

Awards and honors

Among four alumnae to be honored with Smith College Medals this year is behavioral scientist Suzanne Corkin, professor of psychology in the Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences. The award is given annually to alumnae who convey the purpose of a liberal arts education in service to their community. Professor Corkin's work focuses on the biological bases of human memory systems, interaction of brain injury and brain aging, sensory fuctions and the natural history and pathophysiology of degenerative disorders. A member of the faculty since 1964, Professor Corkin is a fellow of the AAAS and the American Psycological Association and has received the Merit Award of the National Institutes of Health. Jill Ker Conway, former president of Smith and now a visiting professor in the Program in Science, Technology and Society, spoke at the February 22 ceremony.

In recognition of its loan counseling videotapes, the MIT Bursar's Office has received one of four awards from the Coalition of Higher Education Assistance organizations, of which MIT is a member. In presenting the award to Associate Bursar Carlene Chisom-Freeman, who accepted on behalf of the Bursar's Office, COHEAO president Gary Hauser called the tapes "innovative and exemplary because they communicate information in a concise, accurate and consistent manner." COHEAO is a nonprofit organization of universities, loan servicers and loan collection agencies that focuses on legislation and communication for all federally funded student loan programs. The tapes were developed by Kate Wilson, formerly associate bursar who is now at Columbia University, and Lawrence Gallagher, manager of MIT Video Productions.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on March 1, 1995.

Related Topics

More MIT News