Skip to content ↓

28 are promoted to associate professor

The Executive Committee of the MIT Corporation has approved the promotions of 28 assistant professors--21 men and seven women--to associate professor without tenure effective July 1, 1995. Promoted are:

School of Architecture and Planning

Architecture: Nasser O. Rabbat and Ritsuko Taho.

Media Arts and Sciences: Patricia E. Maes and Rosalind W. Picard.

Urban Studies and Planning: Paul Smoke and Lawrence Vale.

School of EngineeringAeronautics and Astronautics: Nesbitt W. Hagood IV.

Chemical Engineering: Jonathan G. Harris and Gregory C. Rutledge.

Civil and Environmental Engineering: Cynthia Barnhart and Dara Entekhabi.

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science: James E. Chung and Qing Hu.

Materials Science and Engineering: Gerbrand Ceder, Kirk D. Kolenbrander and Uday B. Pal.

School of Humanities and Social Science

Economics: Jonathan Gruber.

Foreign Languages and Literatures: Bernd Widdig.

History: Jon E. Lendon and Anne E. McCants.

School of Management

S. Lael Brainard and Erik Brynjolfsson.

School of Science

Chemistry: Moungi G. Bawendi and James R. Williamson.

Physics: Roger K. Brooks, Lisa J. Randall, Paraskevas A. Sphicas and Xiao-Gang Wen.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on March 22, 1995.

Related Topics

More MIT News

Wind turbines on the top of a hill

A healthy wind

Health benefits of using wind energy instead of fossil fuels could quadruple if the most polluting power plants are selected for dialing down, new study finds.

Read full story