Skip to content ↓

Three win honors for science teaching

Three faculty members from the School of Science-Professors Thomas Greytak of physics, Victor W. Guillemin of mathematics and Frank Solomon of biology-have received the School's 1994 Teaching Prizes for Excellence in Education.

Professor Greytak, recognized for excellence in undergraduate education was cited for "his admirable taste and skill in selecting and presenting course material, and for his effectiveness in maintaining intellectual standards while winning the gratitude and affection of his students." The undergraduate prize was established by former Dean and Provost John M. Deutch in 1982.

Professors Guillemin and Solomon were recognized for excellence in graduate education, an honor established by Dean Robert J. Birgeneau in 1992.

Professor Guillemin was cited for "his ability to communicate the deep conceptual architecture of mathematical analysis and to do so with elegance and inventive simplicity," while Professor Solomon won by virtue of "his outstanding success in communicating to graduate students, by word and by example, the enthusiasm, standards and satisfactions of advanced research in biology."

"One of my greatest pleasures in becoming dean of science has been learning how many truly outstanding teachers there are in the School of Science," Dean Birgeneau said. "The teaching prizes are one of the ways in which we are able to recognize and reward these superb educators. Tom Greytak, Victor Guillemin and Frank Solomon are among the very best teachers in the School of Science. Each of them is deeply committed to education both in and outside the classroom. MIT is fortunate to have them on its faculty."

A version of this article appeared in the June 29, 1994 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 38, Number 37).

Related Topics

More MIT News