Skip to content ↓

Awards and honors

NACE International, the world's leading professional technical society dedicated to corrosion prevention and control, has selected one of its members, Dr. Ronald M. Latanision, to receive the 1994 W.R. Whitney Award for his contributions to a better understanding of corrosion science.

The award is named for an MIT faculty member, the late W.R. Whitney, who began the tradition of corrosion research at the Institute with his work, The Corrosion of Iron, in 1903.

Dr. Latanision is professor of materials science, director of the H.H. Uhlig Corrosion Laboratory and chairman of the Council on Primary and Secondary education. He has written more than 100 scientific papers and presented more than 200 technical lectures. His research focuses largely in the areas of materials processing and corrosion of metals and other materials in aqueous environments.

The 1993 Prince Mahidol Award for Medicine, established by the King of Thailand in recognition of his father's contribution to medicine and public health in the Kingdom of Thailand, has been awarded to Dr. John Stanbury, professor emeritus of applied biological sciences.

Professor Stanbury, selected from among nominees from 40 countries, was chosen for "the dedication and outstanding scholarship he has displayed over the years," especially his work on iodine deficiency.

The MIT Employees Federal Credit Union has received the 1993 Dora Maxwell Award from the Massachusetts Credit Union Association in recognition of "outstanding achievement in a social responsibility program." The Credit Union was cited for its support for the Pine Street Inn, the New England Shelter for Homeless Veterans, the Salvation Army and the New England Home for Little Wanderers. It also provided support to internal organizations such as MIT's Safe Ride Program, the Public Service Center and the Community Service Fund.

The Association for Computing Machinery has selected Dr. Gerald Jay Sussman, Matsushita Professor of Electrical Engineering, for induction into its initial group of ACM Fellows.

The ACM Fellows designation has been bestowed upon association members who have distinguished themselves by outstanding technical and professional achievements in the field of information technology.

A version of this article appeared in the February 16, 1994 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 38, Number 23).

Related Topics

More MIT News