Skip to content ↓

Five faculty members named to CD chairs

The appointments of five faculty members to career development professorships have been announced.

Anant Agarwal has been named to the Jamieson Career Development Associate Professorship, newly established in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, for a two-year term.

The chair is named for J. Burgess Jamieson of Atherton, CA, a member of the Class of 1952. He is currently the managing general partner of Sigma Management and a director of several companies. He also serves on the Visiting Committee for the EECS department.

Dr. Agarwal, a member of the MIT faculty since 1988, specializes in computer architecture. He is currently constructing the Alewife system, a scalable shared-memory multiprocessor. He holds the B.Tech (1982) from the Indian Institute of Technology in Madras, India, and the MS (1984) and the PhD (1987) from Stanford University.

Tania Baker of the Department of Biology has been named the next holder of the Robert A. Swanson Career Development Assistant Professorship in the Life Sciences for a three-year term. The chair was established in 1986 by Robert A. Swanson, Class of 1969, co-founder and chief executive officer of Genentech, Inc.

Dr. Baker, who joined MIT in August 1992, holds the BS in biochemistry (1983) from the University of Wisconsin, Madison, and the PhD in biochemistry (1988) from Stanford University.

Associate Professor Munther A. Dahleh of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science has been named to the Finmeccanica Career Development Professorship for a two-year term.

An expert in automatic control, Professor Munther joined MIT in 1987 after receiving his PhD from Rice University. He holds the BS (1983) from Texas A&M University.

Finmeccanica is an Italian holding company active in many high technology sectors. The Finmeccanica chair was established in 1989.

Lynn A. Stein of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science has been named the Class of 1957 Career Development Assistant Professor for a three-year term.

Professor Stein's main fields of interest are artificial intelligence (cognition) and programming languages (object oriented).

She holds the AB from Harvard and Radcliffe Colleges (1986) and the ScM (1987) and the PhD (1990) from Brown University. She joined MIT in 1990.

Jackie Y. Ying of the Department of Chemical Engineering has been selected to be the Thomas D. and Virginia W. Cabot Career Development Assistant Professor for a three-year term.

Assistant Professor Ying, who joined the MIT faculty in July, is trained in surface chemistry and is interested in the synthesis of sol-gels and nanocrystalline materials for applications in advanced ceramics and catalysis.

She received a PhD (1991) and MA (1988) from Princeton University and a BE (1987) from The Cooper Union, all in chemical engineering. She was an NSF-NATO Postdoctoral Fellow and Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellow at the Institute for New Matrerials in Germany between 1991-92 and received an NSF Young Investigator Award in 1992.

A version of this article appeared in the January 6, 1993 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 37, Number 17).

Related Topics

More MIT News