Skip to content ↓

American Academy elects three as fellows

Three MIT faculty members were elected as Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences at its annual meeting last month.

The new MIT fellows are: Dr. Julius Rebek Jr., Camille Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry; Ronald L. Rivest, Edwin S. Webster Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, and Dr. Carl O. Pabo, Professor of Biophysics and Structural Biology and Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator.

In addition to Professor Rebek, seven other alumni also were elected. They are: Dr. Charles P. Casey, professor of chemistry at the University of Wisconsin at Madison; Charles M. Correa of Correa Associates in Bombay, India; John T. Groves, professor of chemistry at Princeton University; Amos E. Joel Jr., of AT&T International, Inc.; Dr. Tobin J. Marks, professor of chemistry at Northwestern University; Dr. Stuart H. Orkin, professor of pediatrics at Children's Hospital in Boston, and Dr. Jean M. Tirole, visiting professor of economics at MIT from the University of Toulouse, France.

The election brings to 212 the number of active and emeriti faculty members who are Academy fellows. For more than two centuries, the Academy, located in Cambridge, has brought together the country's leading figures from universities, government, business and the creative arts to exchange ideas and to promote knowledge for the public interest.

A version of this article appeared in the May 5, 1993 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 37, Number 31).

Related Topics

More MIT News