Skip to content ↓

MIT Wins College Bowl National Championship

The MIT College Bowl Team won the College Bowl National Championship Tournament held this weekend at George Washington University by defeating Stanford University twice in the championship round.

The team, captained by James Sarvis '93, includes Freshman Eric Tentarelli, two graduate students in the Sloan School of Management, Larry (Chip) Hunter and Daniel LaGattuta, and the alternate Kyle Pope '92.

Each year the MIT Student Center Committee sponsors the IAP Games Tournament on campus and sends the winners to the Association of College Unions International New England Regional Recreation Tournament. MIT won the Regional Tournament by defeating Brandeis University in the final match to earn a birth at the National Championship.

Sixteen teams from around the country met in Washington D.C. in a round-robin tournament. After 15 rounds, Stanford University stood at 12-3 and MIT at 11-4. The two teams met in a best of three championship round. MIT captured its first National Title in College by defeating Stanford two games to none. This was the third time in the past five years MIT has qualified for the National Tournament. At the 1988 Championships MIT placed eighth and in 1990 MIT finished second in the nation.

Two MIT players were named All Stars of the Tournament, LaGattuta, studying economics and Hunter studying labor relations. This was the second time Hunter has made the All Star Team in as many National Tournaments. The All Star Ballots are cast by the players of the Sixteen competing teams.

A version of this article appeared in the April 29, 1992 issue of MIT Tech Talk (Volume 36, Number 28).

Related Topics

More MIT News