Skip to content ↓

Grove awarded Geochemical Society's Goldschmidt Award

EAPS professor Timothy L. Grove has been named a Goldschmidt Medalist by the Geochemical Society for his contributions to Earth and planetary research.
Timothy L. Grove
Timothy L. Grove
Photo courtesy of Timothy Grove

Timothy L. Grove, the Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Geology in the Department of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences (EAPS), has been awarded the 2014 Goldschmidt Award by the Geochemical Society.

The V.M. Goldschmidt Award recognizes major achievements in geochemistry or cosmochemistry consisting of either a single outstanding contribution or a series of publications that have had great influence on the field. According to the Geochemical Society, Grove is recognized for his "outstanding contributions to understanding magma genesis on Earth, other planets, and planetary bodies; his ability to combine exquisite and difficult petrologic experimentation with field work; and, his creativity in driving thought on generation mechanisms of magmas in new directions. He is highly regarded in particular for his work on the role of water in magma genesis."

Grove’s research focus is on the processes that have led to the chemical differentiation of the crust and mantle of the Earth and on the processes of formation and evolution of the interiors of other planets, including the moon, Mars, and meteorite parent bodies. Combining geology, marine geology, geophysics and geochemistry to interpret the thermal histories of geologic materials, his group studies magma generation processes, crystal growth and nucleation, phase transitions in minerals, diffusion in crystalline solids and silicate melts, and the time dependence of diffusion-controlled processes.

Grove holds a PhD from Harvard University (1976) and has been a professor at MIT since 1979. He is a Fellow of the Mineralogical Society of America, and an American Geophysical Union Fellow (2001). He was President of the American Geophysical Union from 2008 to 2010. He is the executive editor for the journal Contributions to Mineralogy and Petrology.

The award will be presented at the Goldschmidt 2014 conference in June. In 2006, EAPS faculty member Susan Solomon, the Ellen Swallow Richards Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry & Climate Science, was presented with the Goldschmidt Award.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News