Skip to content ↓

Vest wins NSB's Vannevar Bush award

President emeritus honored for public service leadership
President emeritus Charles Vest
President emeritus Charles Vest
Photo: Donna Coveney

Charles Vest, MIT president emeritus and professor of mechanical engineering, has been named the recipient of the National Science Board's (NSB) 2011 Vannevar Bush Award for his distinguished public service leadership in science and technology.

The Vannevar Bush Award is presented annually to an individual who, through public service activities in science and technology, has made an outstanding "contribution toward the welfare of mankind and the nation."

Vest currently serves as president of the National Academy of Engineering, having been elected to a six-year term in 2007. He served as president of MIT from 1990 until 2004.

"Charles Vest has been a dynamic force in science policy for a number of years, and we're very pleased to honor him with the Vannevar Bush award," said NSB Chairman Ray Bowen. "He joins a long list of distinguished citizens to be honored by this award."

Visit the National Science Foundation website to learn more about this award.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News