Skip to content ↓

Recognizing faculty for outstanding teaching, mentoring and innovation

Who should receive MIT's highest honor for teaching, mentoring and innovation in undergraduate education? Provost L. Rafael Reif has issued the annual call for nominations for MacVicar Faculty Fellows.

The MacVicar Faculty Fellows Program was established in 1992 to honor the life and devotion to teaching excellence of Margaret MacVicar '64, ScD '67, MIT's first Dean for Undergraduate Education and founder of the Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP).

In describing the program, Provost Reif explained, “Appointment as a MacVicar Fellow recognizes professors who have made exemplary and sustained contributions to the teaching and complete education of MIT undergraduates, which includes their dedication inside the classroom and beyond.”

Nominations, including letters of support from faculty, department heads and students, are due in the Office of Faculty Support, 12-127, by Monday, Nov. 14.
A complete description of the program, a list of fellows, and details of the nomination process are available at the MacVicar Fellows website.

MacVicar Fellows are appointed by the provost on the recommendation of an advisory committee headed by the Dean for Undergraduate Education Daniel Hastings, and composed of faculty and two undergraduates. Fellows are appointed for 10 years and receive an annual allowance of $10,000 for educational activities, research, travel and other scholarly activities.

More MIT News