Skip to content ↓

Anne Whiston Spirn books win multiple awards

'Daring to Look' and 'The Granite Garden' honored
The Wardlaw couple at entrance of basement dugout home.
The Wardlaw couple at entrance of basement dugout home.
Photo by Dorthea Lange (Library of Congress)

Anne Whiston Spirn’s recent book Daring to Look (University of Chicago Press, 2008) has won the 2009 Great Places Book Award from the Environmental Design Research Association, for advancing critical understanding of place and helping foster the design of exceptional environments.

It has also won the 2009 John Brinckerhoff Jackson Book Prize from the Foundation for Landscape Studies — a prize that recognizes books ‘that break new ground in method or interpretation’ — and it won an Honorable Mention in the 2009 PROSE Awards from the American Association of Publishers for excellence in scholarship.

Meanwhile, another of Spirn’s books, The Granite Garden: Urban Nature and Human Design (Basic Books,1984), has been recognized by the American Planning Association as one of the past century’s ‘100 Essential Books of Planning’.

Read more here.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News