Skip to content ↓

Awards and Honors: Aug. 31, 2009

NNSA awards $2.25 million to MIT research

Richard Petrasso, division head and senior research scientist at the Plasma Science and Fusion Center at MIT, was recently awarded a $2.25 million grant from the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA).

The awards, which are for three years, were made through NNSA's Stewardship Science Academic Alliances (SSAA) program and the program in High Energy Density Laboratory Plasmas (HEDLP), a joint program with grants funded by NNSA and the Department of Energy Office of Science.

Petrasso's grant will go toward work studying fields and matter in HED plasmas, hohlraums and ICF implosions, using monoenergetic proton and alpha radiography and fusion-product spectrometry.

Jim Fox named to One Health Commission board

Jim Fox, a professor and director of the Division of Comparative Medicine and a professor in the Department of Biological Engineering, has been named to the board of directors of the One Health Commission, a new national organization established to spotlight the connections between human, animal and environmental health, as well as the benefits of proactive and collaborative approaches toward better health for all.

Six MIT professors win ACS national awards

Six professors - including an Institute Professor, four from the Department of Chemistry and one from the Deparment of Chemical Engineering - have been selected to receive 2010 American Chemical Society national awards.

Moungi G. Bawendi, the Lester Wolfe Professor of Chemistry, won the_ACS Award in Colloid and Surface Chemistry; Institute Professor Mildred Dresselhaus was honored with the ACS Award for Encouraging Women into Careers in the Chemical Sciences; Stephen J. Lippard, the Arthur Amos Noyes Professor of Chemistry, received the Ronald Breslow Award for Achievement in Biomimetic Chemistry; Associate Professor Mohammad Movassaghi was the recipient of the Elias J. Corey Award for Outstanding Original Contribution in Organic Synthesis by a Young Investigator; Chemical Engineering professor Gregory N. Stephanopoulos won the E. V. Murphree Award in Industrial and Engineering Chemistry; and Alice Y. Ting, the Pfizer-Laubach Career Development Associate Professor of Chemistry, received the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award.

The professors will be honored at an awards ceremony on Tuesday, March 23, 2010, in conjunction with the 239th ACS National Meeting in San Francisco.

Related Topics

More MIT News