Skip to content ↓

Mechanical Engineering awards

Department Service Award--for outstanding service to the mechanical engineering department
- Betar M. Gallant '08, Natick, Mass.
- Yi 'Ellen' Chen '08, Saint Charles, Mo.
- Kristina M. Haller '08, Des Moines, Wash.
- Alex Slocum Jr. '08, Bow, N.H.

Carl G. Sontheimer Prize--for creativity andinnovation in design
- Alex Slocum Jr. '08, Bow, N.H.
- Taylor Roan '08, Pleasant Grove, Utah
- Lawrence A. Maligaya '09, Mundelein, Ill.
- Dimitrios Tzeranis G, Agia Paraskevi, Greece
- Matthew S. Humbert '08, Magnolia, Mass.

Meredith Kamm Memorial Award--to outstanding women mechanical engineering graduate students
- Anjuli Appapillai G, San Diego, Calif.
- Barbara Botros G, Calgary, Alberta, Canada

John C. and Elizabeth J. Chato Award--for Excellence in Bioengineering
- Melis Anahtar '08,Bethesda, Md.

Luis de Florez Award--for outstanding ingenuity and creativity
- Gregory Schroll '08, Chatham, N.J.

Peter Griffith Prize--for an outstanding Experimental Project and Thesis
- Betar Gallant '08, Natick, Mass.

AMP Inc. Award--for outstanding performance in Course 2.002
- Claudio V. Di Leo '10, Alcobendas, Spain
- Emily F. Houston '10, Burke, Va.
- Adam T. Paxon '09, Trout Lake, Wash.
- Samuel B. Weiss '10, Andover, Mass.

Wunsch Foundation Silent Hoist and Crane Award--for outstanding TAs
- Course 2.007: Nevan C. Hanumara G, Kinston, R.I.
- Course 2.002: Meredith N. Silberstein G, Redondo Beach, Calif.
- Course 2.002: Brian P. Greviskes G, Aurora, Ill.
- Course 2.003: Ajay A. Deshpande G, Pune, India

Wunsch Foundation Silent Hoist and Crane Award--for academic excellence and outstanding thesis
- Batya A. Fellman '08, San Diego, Calif.
- C. Angelosanto '08, North Attleboro, Mass.
- Abby M. Carey '08, Big Lake, Minn.
- Yi 'Ellen' Chen '08, Saint Charles, Mo.
- Melis N. Anahtar '08, Bethesda, Md.
- Michael C. Kozlowski '08, Melrose, Mass.
- Orian Z. Welling '08, Custer, Wisc.

Park Award--for outstanding performance in manufacturing
- Zachary J. Jackowski '09, Boonton, N.J.
- Yi F. Wu '09, Cambridge, Mass.

Society of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering Award--for an outstanding undergraduate in the marine field
- Kaitlyn G. McCartney '09, Newton, Mass.

Robert Bruce Wallace Academic Prize--for academic excellence and outstanding potential for professional leadership in ocean engineering
- Brooks L. Reed '09, Santa Cruz, Calif.

Alfred A. H. Keil Ocean Engineering Development Fund Award--for outstanding research
- Elizabeth L. Palmer '09, Yarmouth, Maine
- Charles D. Field '10, Honolulu, Hawaii

American Bureau of Shipping Award--for advanced research in marine engineering and naval architecture
- Kyriakos Avgouleas G, Athens, Greece
- Ronald J. Caputo G

Clement C. Burnap Award--for outstanding Masters of Science in the marine field
- Kyriakos Avgouleas G, Athens, Greece

Whitelaw Prize--for originality in 2.007 design and contest
- Kevin E. Plumer '10, Byfield, Mass.
- Raymond R. Ma '10, Plano, Texas

International Design Competition: 2.007 Contest
- 1st place: Gregory D. Tao '10, Lafayette, Ind.
- 2nd place: Ethan L. Huwe '10, Perham, Minn.
- 3rd place: Aaron E. Ramirez '10, Chicago, Ill.
- 4th place: Radu Gogoana '10, Falls Church, Va.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 4, 2008 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News

Wind turbines on the top of a hill

A healthy wind

Health benefits of using wind energy instead of fossil fuels could quadruple if the most polluting power plants are selected for dialing down, new study finds.

Read full story