Skip to content ↓

Brain & Cognitive Sciences awards

Walle Nauta Award--for Continuing Dedication to Teaching
- Amy Perfors G, Montrose, Colo.

Angus MacDonald Award--for Excellence in Undergradaute Teaching
- Ulf Knoblich G, Berlin, Germany
- Michelle Machon G, Boston, Mass.
- Srinivas Turaga G, Chelmsford, Mass.; Secunderabad, India
- Paymon Hosseini G, Chicago, Ill.
- James Mutch G, Vancouver, Canada
- Li-Wei (Livia) King G, Albuquerque, N.M.
- Christopher L. Baker G, Seattle, Wash.
- Talia Konkle G, San Luis Obispo, Calif.
- Michael C. Frank G, New York, N.Y.

BCS Award--for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
- Assistant Professor Aude Oliva, Chambery, France

BCS Award--for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising
- Associate Professor Pawan Sinha, New Delhi, India

Louis Kampf Writing Prize--in Women's and Gender Studies--Includes a $300 prize for the winner
- Caroline Rubin '08, Brain and Cognitive Science and Anthropology, Frederick, Md.

Honorable Mention for Outstanding Academic Record
- Sha-har Adomni '09, Great Neck, N.Y.
- Alice Ainsworth '09, Burke, Va.
- Stephanie Brenman '09, Newton, Mass.
- Tharian Cherian '09, Bedford, Mass.
- Abigail Clark '09, Springfield, Va.
- Jacquelyn Gold '09, Boca Raton, Fla.
- Lauren Habenicht '09, Denver, Colo.
- Denise Ichino '09, Emerson, N.J.
- Gloria Lee '09, Bayside, N.Y.
- Christopher Moses '09, Davie, Fla.
- Navine Nasser-Ghodsi '09, South Hampton, Mass.
- Kimberly Reinhold '09, Hilo, Hawaii
- Matthew Serna '09, Edinburg, Texas
- Irina Shklyar '09, Sherman Oaks, Calif.
- Jordan Sorensen '09, Guthrie Center, Iowa
- Aditya Joshi '10, Schenectady, N.Y.
- ManJae Kwon '10, Seoul, South Korea

Honorable Mention for Outstanding Research--Recognition is given to sophomores and juniors for exceptional research activities within the department.
- Tharian Cherian '09, Bedford, Mass.
- Danbee Kim '09, Starkville, Miss.
- Denise Ichino '09, Emerson, N.J.
- Ainsley Braun '10, Rye, N.H.
- Isabel Chang '10, Korea

Walle J. H. Nauta Award--for Outstanding Research in Brain and Cognitive Sciences
- Adina Fischer '08, Misgave, Israel
- Lizabeth Jordan '08, Cypress, Texas
- Suejean Lim '08, San Antonio, Texas
- Michael Obilade '08, Owensboro, Ky.

Hans-Lukas Teuber Award for Outstanding Academics--for Outstanding Academic Achievement at MIT
- Zainab Azeez '08, Chicago, Ill.
- Adina Fischer '08, Virginia Beach, Va.
- Irene Headen '08, Raleigh, N.C.
- Kaitlin Kamrowski '08, Garden City, N.Y.
- Peter Lai '08, Agoura Hills, Calif.
- Nune Lemaire '08, Fairbanks, Alaska
- Tao Liu '08, Bedford, Mass.
- Jamie Mehringer '08, Cambridge, Mass.
- Narine Mousissian '08, Oklahoma City, Okla.
- Caroline Rubin '08, Frederick, Md.
- Mariam Shaikh '08, Boston, Mass.
- Tess Veuthy '08, Washington, D.C.
- Angeline Wang '08, Beverly Hills, Calif.
- Rany Woo '08, Fayette, N.C.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 4, 2008 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News

Photo of Annauk Olin with her husband and baby

Saving Iñupiaq

Linguistics graduate student Annauk Olin is helping her Alaska Native community preserve their language and navigate the severe impact of climate change.

Read full story