Skip to content ↓

Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics awards

The Andrew Morsa Prize--Given to undergraduate students for demonstration of ingenuity and initiative in the application of computers to the field of Aeronautics and Astronautics
-Gerardo E. Cruz, '08, Catano, Puerto Rico
-Christopher K. Hoffman, '08, Kapaa, Hawaii

The Apollo Award--Given to an Aero & Astro student who conducts the best undergraduate research project on the topic of humans in space
-Joy M. Dunn, '08, Arroyo Grande, Calif.
-Corinne E. Vannatta, '08, Denver, Colo.

The David J. Shapiro Award--Given to Aero & Astro undergraduate students to pursue special aeronautical projects that are student-initiated, and/or to support foreign travel for the enhancement of scientific/technical studies and research opportunities
-Robyn Allen, '08, Mill Valley, Calif.
-Ruijie He, G aeronautics and astronautics and political science, Singapore
-Louis E. Perna, '09, Tampa, Fla.
-Bruce T. Vest, '09, Godfrey, Ill.
-Petek Saracoglu, '09, Clifton Park, N.Y.

The Leaders for Manufacturing Prize--Awarded to a team that uses their project to directly deal with issues related to the interaction between manufacturing and engineering through demonstration of modern manufacturing processes
-Brittany Baker, '08, West Jordan, Utah
-Noelle Steber, '08, Hazleton, Pa.

The Lockheed Martin Prize for Excellence in Systems Engineering--Awarded to an undergraduate team who has exhibited superior level of accomplishment in engineering innovation, product development and team organization
-The Mars Gravity Biosatellite Team.

The United Technologies Corp. Prize--Given to an Aero & Astro student for outstanding achievement in the design, construction, execution, and reporting of an undergraduate experimental project
-Warren (Woody) Hoburg, '08, Baden, Pa.
-James P. Houghton, '08, Houston, Texas

The Admiral Luis De Florez Prize--Given for "original thinking or ingenuity" as demonstrated by the individual effort of the student, not the ideas and suggestions of his advisor, instructors, or an advisory team
-Katrina M. Sorensen, '08, San Ramon, Calif.
-Joseph Yurko, '08, Irwin, Pa.

The James Means Award for Excellence in Space Systems Engineering
-Zachary J. Bailey, '08, Fredericksburg, Va.
-Katherine A. Ingle, '08, Oregon
-James P. Houghton, '08, Houston, Texas

The James Means Award for Excellence in Flight Vehicle Engineering
-David A. Sanchez, '09, Santa Maria, Calif.

The Aero & Astro Teaching Assistantship Award--Given to a teaching assistant, or assistants, who demonstrate conspicuous dedication and skill in helping fulfill an undergraduate or graduate subject's educational objectives
-Daniel G. Courtney, G, Kanata, Ontario, Canada
-Francois T. Floch, G, Saint-Mande, France
-Jaime Pereira de Mateus Silva, G, Mallorca, Spain
-Gregory Michael Lack, G, Lewisburg, Pa.

The Yvnge Raustein Award--Given to a Unified Engineering student who best exemplifies the spirit of Yngve Raustein and to recognize significant achievement in Unified Engineering
-Jonathan J. Borras, '10, Waltham, Mass.

The Henry Webb Salisbury Award--Given in memory of Henry Salisbury to a graduating senior (or seniors) who has achieved superior academic performance in the Course XVI Undergraduate Program
Warren (Woody) Hoburg, '08, Baden, Pa.

The AIAA Undergraduate Advising Award--Given by the AIAA Student Chapter to a faculty or staff who has demonstrated excellence in serving as an academic or 16.621/16.622 advisor and has made a real positive impact on a student's time in the Aero Astro Department
-Professor R. John Hansman

The AIAA Undergraduate Teaching Award--given by the AIAA Student Chapter to a faculty or staff member who has exemplified the role of a "great teacher"
-Professor Zoltan Spakovszky

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 4, 2008 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News

Wind turbines on the top of a hill

A healthy wind

Health benefits of using wind energy instead of fossil fuels could quadruple if the most polluting power plants are selected for dialing down, new study finds.

Read full story