Skip to content ↓

Awards and Honors

Mujid Kazimi, director of the MIT Center for Advanced Nuclear Energy Systems, will be honored at the inaugural gala of the American Task Force on Palestine. The Oct. 11 gala in Washington, D.C., will recognize the accomplishments of leading Palestinian Americans in government, commerce and industry, and scholarship.

Erich P. Ippen, the Elihu Thomson Professor of Electrical Engineering and professor of physics, has been awarded the Frederic Ives Medal/Jarus W. Quinn Endowment by the Optical Society of America. Ippen received the award, the highest conferred by the society for overall distinction in optics, for laying the foundations of ultrafast science and engineering and providing vision and sustained leadership to the optics community.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on September 20, 2006 (download PDF).

Related Topics

More MIT News

The book cover has bright yellow lights like fireflies, and says, “The Transcendent Brain: Spirituality in the Age of Science; Alan Lightman, best-selling author of Searching for Stars on an Island in Maine.” On the right is a portrait of Alan Lightman.

Minds wide open

Alan Lightman’s new book asks how a sense of transcendence can exist in brains made of atoms, molecules, and neurons.

Read full story