Skip to content ↓

School of Engineering awards

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship--for students who plan to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences or an engineering discipline that contributes to the technological advances of the United States
- Kevin K. Miu '06, mechanical engineering, Syosset, N.Y.
- Jacob Fox '06, mathematics, West Hartford, Conn.
- Alicia Zhou '06, biology, Chicago, Ill.

Henry Ford Scholar Award--to a senior engineering student who has maintained a cumulative average of 5.0 at the end of their seventh term and who has exceptional potential for leadership in engineering and society
- Edmond Lau '05, EECS, San Francisco, Calif.

Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching--for undergraduate teaching contributions characterized by dedication, care, creativity and inspiration
- Associate Professor Dennis Freeman, EECS

Junior Bose Award--presented to the outstanding contributor to education on the School of Engineering faculty who are being proposed for promotion to associate professor without tenure
- Assistant Professor Karen Willcox, aero/astro

Ruth and Joel Spira Award for Distinguished Teaching
- Associate Professor Rahul Sarpeshkar, EECS
- Assistant Professor Kimberly Hamad-Schifferli, mechanical engineering
- Assistant Professor Anette Hosoi, mechanical engineering
- Professor George Apostolakis, nuclear engineering

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 1, 2005 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News

Wind turbines on the top of a hill

A healthy wind

Health benefits of using wind energy instead of fossil fuels could quadruple if the most polluting power plants are selected for dialing down, new study finds.

Read full story