Skip to content ↓

Dibner Institute names Fellows for '04-'05

The Dibner Institute for the History of Science and Technology will welcome nine senior fellows, one senior research scholar, four postdoctoral fellows, four re-appointed postdoctoral fellows, one science writer fellow, and seven graduate student fellows.

The senior fellows are: Thomas Archibald, professor of Mathematics at Acadia University; Sonja Brentjes, an independent scholar; David Cahan, professor of history at the University of Nebraska; Giora Hon of the University of Haifa; Cesare Maffioli of the Ecole Europ���enne in Luxembourg; Conevery Valencius of Washington University in St. Louis; James Voelkel, an independent scholar; and Sara Wermiel, a visiting scholar in MIT's Program in Science, Technology and Society (STS).

The senior research scholar is W. Ford Doolittle of Dalhousie University.

First-year postdoctoral fellows are: Kristine Harper, who received her Ph.D. from Oregon State University; doctoral candidates Andrew Johnston, studying architectural history at the University of California at Berkeley; Takashi Nishiyama of Ohio State University; and Chen-Pang Yeang of STS.

Second-year postdoctoral fellows are Peter Bokulich of the University of Notre Dame; Claire Calcagno, who received her Ph.D. in archaeology from Oxford University and has been a visiting scholar in STS; Dane Daniel of Indiana University; Gerard J. Fitzgerald of Carnegie Mellon University; and David Pantalony, who received his Ph.D. from the University of Toronto.

The new science writer fellow is free-lance writer Seth Shulman.

Graduate student fellows are Alexander Brown, Peter Shulman (S.B. 2001), Jenny Leigh Smith and Anya Zilberstein of STS; Luis Campos and Abena Dove Osseo-Asare of Harvard's Department of the History of Science; and Dr. Katrien Vander Straeten, a student in Boston University's Center for Philosophy and History of Science.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 2, 2004 (download PDF).

Related Topics

More MIT News