Skip to content ↓

Awards convocation

Gordon Y Billard Award winners Karen Nilsson (left) and Victoria Sirianni.
Gordon Y Billard Award winners Karen Nilsson (left) and Victoria Sirianni.
Photo / Donna Coveney
Goodwin medalists Rajeev Malhotra (left) and Brian C. Dean.
Goodwin medalists Rajeev Malhotra (left) and Brian C. Dean.
Photo / Donna Coveney
Karl Taylor Compton Prize winners R. Erich Caulfield and Emily Cofer.
Karl Taylor Compton Prize winners R. Erich Caulfield and Emily Cofer.
Photo / Donna Coveney

The following awards were presented at the Institute Awards Convocation on May 4. Some awards announced at the convocation appear with their respective departmental awards.


William L. Stewart Jr. Awards--for contributions by an individual student or student organization to extracurricular activities and events during the preceding year

David A. Berry G, biological engineering, Mt. Kisco, N.Y.

William S. DelHagen G, EECS, Manhattan Beach, Calif.

Peter T. Rye G, chemistry, Merrimack, N.H.

Hans Tung G, management, Ranchos Palos Verdes, Calif.

Rose A. Grabowski '05, management, Andover, Mass.

Fahad H. Kajani '05, management, Richmond, Texas

John R. Velasco '05, political science, La Mesa, Calif.

Laya Wiesner Community Award--for a member or friend of the MIT community for conspicuously effective service that reflects Mrs. Wiesner's concerns for enhancing life at the Institute and the world

Maryanne Kirkbride, MIT Medical's clinical director for campus life

Priscilla King Gray Award for Public Service--for an undergraduate exceptionally committed to public service at MIT and its surrounding communities

Anne Kloimwieder '04, biology, Dayton, Ohio

James N. Murphy Award--for an employee whose spirit and loyalty exemplify inspired and dedicated service, especially with regard to students

Gabrielle Abelard, program manager for graduate residences in Student Life Programs

Robert T. Ramsay Jr., house manager of MacGregor House

Gordon Y Billard Award--for special service of outstanding merit performed for the Institute

Vicky Sirianni, chief facilities officer in Facilities

Karen Nilsson, director of Housing

Karl Taylor Compton Prize--for achievements in citizenship and devotion to the welfare of MIT

R. Erich Caulfield G, EECS, Baton Rouge, La.

Emily Cofer '04, mechanical engineering, Millis, Mass.

John S.W. Kellett '47 Award--for a commitment to creating a more welcoming environment at MIT, including but not limited to improving the experience of lesbian, bisexual, gay, transgendered (LBGT) and questioning individuals

Benjamin R. Wagner '05, EECS, Nashua, Mont.


Edward L. Horton Fellowship Award--for fostering fellowship in the graduate student body

Alexandre Debs G, economics, Drummondville, Quebec

Frank E. Perkins Award--for excellent advising for graduate students

Associate Professor Peter So of mechanical engineering

Irwin Sizer Award for the Most Significant Improvement in MIT Education

Associate Professor Caroline A. Ross of materials science and engineering

Graduate Student Council Teaching Award--for excellence in teaching a graduate-level course, given each year to one professor or teaching assistant from each school

Professor William Porter, architecture

Professor Lee Gehrke, HST

Assistant Professor Jared Curhan, Sloan School of Management

Professor Asuman Ozdaglar, EECS

Dionisios Margetis, instructor in mathematics

Professor David Kaiser, STS

Shan-Yuan Ho G, EECS, San Francisco

Goodwin Medal--for a graduate student whose performance of teaching duties is "conspicuously effective over and above ordinary excellence"

Brian C. Dean G, EECS, Cambridge, Mass.

Rajeev Malhotra G, HST, Murrieta, Calif.

Everett Moore Baker Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Professor Donald R. Sadoway of materials science and engineering

Sarah A. Tabacco, instructor in chemistry

Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching

Professor Ian Hunter of mechanical engineering

Arthur C. Smith Award--to a faculty member for meaningful contributions and devotion to undergraduate student life

Professor Stephen M. Meyer of political science

Women and minorities

Albert G. Hill Prize--for minority juniors or seniors with high academic standards and continued contributions to improving the quality of life for minorities at MIT

Pius A. Uzamere '04, EECS, New Castle, Penn.

Terrence Strader '04, EECS, CIncinnati, Ohio

Laya W. Wiesner Award--for an undergraduate woman who has most enhanced MIT community life

Monique A. Johnson '04, architecture, Morrisville, N.C.

Ronald E. McNair Scholarship Award--for black undergraduates with strong academic performance and considerable contributions to the minority community

Kasetta V. Coleman '04, materials science and engineering, Philadelphia

Nnennia L. Ejebe '04, chemical engineering, Plymouth, Minn.

Christine P. Fleming '04, EECS, Bronx, N.Y.

Adrian E. Townsend '04, aero/astro, Rochester, N.Y.

Afiya A. Whisby '04, architecture, Macon, Ga.

Association of MIT Alumnae (AMITA) Senior Academic Award--for senior women who have demonstrated academic excellence through coursework and related professional activities at MIT

Irit Rappley '04, BCS, Cambridge, Mass.

Sonya C. Tang '04, chemistry, Great Neck, N.Y.


Harold J. Pettegrove Award--for outstanding service to intramurals

Kent A. Ross '04, mathematics, Tokyo

Betsy Schumacker Award--for a female undergraduate for excellence in athletic competition

Kathryn M. Duffy '04, chemistry, Port Washington, Wis.

Howard W. Johnson Award--for the male senior athlete of the year

Nicholas R. Nestle '04, EECS, Smyrna, Ga.

Malcolm G. Kispert Award--for the male and female senior scholar-athletes of the year

Martha W. Buckley '04, physics, Washington, D.C.

Rory E. Foster '04, mechanical engineering, Madison, Wis.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 2, 2004 (download PDF).

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News