Skip to content ↓

Engineering Systems Division awards

Unless otherwise indicated, award recipients are graduate students in one of the Engineering Systems Division programs, including the Leaders for Manufacturing Program (LFM), the Technology and Policy Program (TPP), and the Center for Transportation and Logistics (CTL).

Robert A. Fano UROP Award

Ariel Rodriguez '05, EECS, Miami
Taylor Barton '06, Arlington, Mass.

General Motors Fuel Cell Case Competition--teams of graduate students described a strategy to enable the growth of a hydrogen-fueling infrastructure while supporting the growth of fuel cell vehicles; all five top winners were MIT teams

1st place: Jonathan Rheaume, Vernon, Conn.; Satish Krishnan, Houston; and Peter Haughton, Chapel Hill, N.C. (all in LFM)
2nd place: Swati Chaturvedi, Chennai, India; Michael Speerscheneider, Novi, Mich.; and Anneloes Hesen, Den Haag, The Netherlands (all in TPP)
3rd place: Trent Yang, Boulder, Colo.; Kok Hou (Jim) Tay, Ann Arbor, Mich.; Joshua McConnell, Houston; Chris Glazner, Channelview, Texas (all in TPP)
4th and 5th place (these teams' finishing order was not specified by GM): Erik Bue, Westport, Conn.; Michael Brylawski, Basalt, Colo.; and Mark Hagan, Havertown, Pa. (all in LFM). Amber Chesborough, Gainesville, Fla.; Joshua Binder, Medway, Mass.; Steven Herren, Billings, Mont.; and Kevin Schwain, Minneapolis (all in LFM)

Telly Award--for outstanding television commericals, video productions, and films

Joseph F. Coughlin, director of the AgeLab and acting co-director of the CTL, for his research and presentation of "One in Four: Strategic Business Innovation for a Global, Aging Market."

Charles "Harrison" Smith III Memorial Award--for a first-year LFM graduate student who has contributed most significantly to his or her LFM class

Jim Chow, Palo Alto, Calif.
Michelle Bernson, Seattle

State University of New York at Oswego Distinguished Alumni Award

Joseph F. Coughlin

2001 Eric Pas Dissertation Prize for Travel Behavior Research

Joan Walker, CTL alumna (S.M. 1994, Ph.D. 2001)

National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship, and MIT Akamai Presidential Fellowship

Eben Scanlon, LFM, Poland Spring, Maine

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 4, 2003.

Related Topics

More MIT News