Skip to content ↓

Aeronautics and astronautics awards

All award recipients are students majoring in aeronautics and astronautics unless otherwise indicated.

Andrew Morsa Award--for ingenuity and initiative in applying computers to the field of aeronautics and astronautics

Elizabeth Bly '03, Sarasota, Fla., and Brian Guzman '03, Windsor, Conn., for developing a color recognition system in a single chip for use in remote sensing operations

Jennifer Underwood '03, Spring, Texas, for her work on the the EMFForce satellite system testbed in 16.686, Space Systems Product Development

Yngve Raustein Award--for a a student who best exemplifies the spirit of Yngve Raustein and to recognize significant achievement in Unified Engineering

Christopher Sequeira '05, Keller, Texas

Professor Ed Crawley (head of aero/astro)

Myra Harrison (Baker housemaster)

David J. Shapiro Award--to support student-initiated special aeronautical projects and/or foreign travel for scientific/technical studies and research opportunities

Thomas Coffee '05, Torrance, Calif., for a Mars gravity biosatellite study on vestibular effects of artificial gravity centrifugation on mice

Douglas Quattrochi '04, Groveland, Mass., for travel to do a study on space tourism

Apollo Program Prize--for the best undergraduate research project on humans in space

Paul Wooster '03, Toronto, for leadership of the Mars gravity project to test the feasibility of artificial gravity with mice

Leaders for Manufacturing Prize--for students in "Experimental Projects II" whose project directly deals with the interaction between manufacturing and engineering

Jesus Bolivar '03, Velencia, Venezuela, for playing a critical role in the CDIO capstone course which built an electromagnetic formation flight testbed (EMFForce)

United Technologies Corp. Award--for achievement in design, construction, execution and reporting of an undergraduate experimental project

Philip Springmann '03, Racine, Wis., and Glenn Tournier '03, Cary, Ill., for their project on missile control through center-of-pressure motion

Stephano Alziati, '04, S�o Paulo, Brazil, and Warren Bennett '04, Cambridge, England, for addressing difficulties associated with developing test procedures for ice-climbing equipment

Timothy Pigeon '03, Bridgewater, Mass., and Ryan Whitaker '03, Lee's Summit, Mo., for their near-vacuum Hall thruster

James Means Award--for excellence in space systems engineering

Elizabeth Bly '03, Sarasota, Fla., for distinguishing herself in this year's Space Science and Engineering Design Project, both as a worker and a leader

James Means Memorial Award--for excellence in flight vehicle engineering

The 16.82 class (North, South, East and West teams), for excellence in design of an unmanned cargo aircraft system

Admiral de Florez Award--for original thinking or ingenuity

Richard Sheridan '03, San Francisco, and Margaret Stringfellow '03, Tacoma, Wash., for ingenuity in the design and execution of a Mars terrain generator for defining the performance of RRT-based path-planning algorithms

Henry Webb Salisbury Award--for outstanding work in the undergraduate degree program in aero/astro

Krzysztof Fidkowski '03, Macungie, Pa.

Course 16 Teaching Assistantship Award

Daniel Craig '03, Arcadia, Okla.

Gregory Mark '03, Bethesda, Md.

Caroline Twomey '03, Cambridge, Mass.

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Undergraduate Teaching Award

Professor Ian Waitz

The AIAA Undergraduate Advising Award

Professor Zoltan Spakovszky

The Sigma Gamma Tau Honor Society Graduate Teaching Award

Professor James Kuchar

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 4, 2003.

Related Topics

More MIT News