Skip to content ↓

Awards and Honors

Mohammad Movassaghi, assistant professor of chemistry, was selected as one of five recipients of the Damon Runyan Scholar Award, which supports the development of outstanding scientists as they establish their own research laboratories. Awardees each receive $100,000 a year for three years from the Damon Runyan Cancer Research Foundation.

Hal Abelson, the Class of 1922 Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, has been named one of 14 Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholars for 2003-04. He will spend two days apiece at eight colleges and universities, where he will give a major address as well as meet informally with undergraduates participating in lectures and seminars.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on December 10, 2003.

Related Topics

More MIT News