Skip to content ↓

Awards and Honors

Douglas Lauffenburger, the Whitaker Professor of Bioengineering and Director of the Biological Engineering Division, received the 2003 Distinguished Lectureship Award of the Biomedical Engineering Society at the BMES Annual Meeting on Oct. 4. This is the highest award given by BMES, recognizing outstanding achievements and leadership in the science and practice of biomedical engineering.

Richard C. Larson, professor of civil and environmental engineering (CEE) and engineering systems, is the new president-elect for the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS).

Professor Stephen Ansolabehere of political science is the new holder of the Elting E. Morison Chair for a five-year term. The chair was established in 1996 with funds from the Arthur J. Conner (1988) Trust in honor of the late Professor Morison, an MIT faculty member for 35 years who helped found the Program in Science, Technology and Society.

David E. Pritchard, the Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Physics, has received the Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science from the American Physical Society. His award recognized his "groundbreaking studies of coherent atom optics and pioneering work on laser cooling and trapping of atomic gases."

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on October 22, 2003.

Related Topics

More MIT News