Skip to content ↓

Three from MIT named to AAAS

The American Association for the Advancement of Science has awarded the distinction of Fellow to 348 members, including three MIT faculty.

Fellows are recognized for their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished. New MIT Fellows are:

Professor of Chemistry Sylvia T. Ceyer, "for groundbreaking advances in the study of chemical reactions on surfaces using molecular beams and surface spectroscopy."

Professor of Materials Science and Engineering Edwin L. Thomas, "for insightful studies of polymer-based nanocomposites, particularly mechanical and optical properties of ordered block copolymer nanoparticle materials, and for leadership in materials education and nanotechnology." Thomas is also director of the Institute for Soldier Nanotechnologies.

Professor of Ocean Engineering J. Kim Vandiver, "for distinguished contributions to the field of vibration analysis and for exceptional attention to the engagement of undergraduate students in intellectual inquiry." Vandiver is also dean for undergraduate research.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on October 29, 2003.

Related Topics

More MIT News