Skip to content ↓

Nuclear engineering recognizes 8 students

The following awards were announced at the Department of Nuclear Engineering/American Nuclear Society international dinner on May 2.

The Manson Benedict Fellowship, awarded to a graduate student for excellence in academic performance and professional promise in nuclear engineering, went to Li Liu of Beijing (fall 2002) and Jacopo Saccheri of Milano, Italy (spring 2003).

Victoria K. Anderson of Farmington Hills, Mich., received the Roy Axford Award for academic achievement by a senior in nuclear engineering. Tanya I. Burka of Fourtown, Penn., was given the Irving Kaplan Award for academic achievement by a junior in nuclear engineering.

The Outstanding Student Service Award in recognition of exceptional services to the students, the department and the entire MIT community was presented to graduate students Virginia L. Curran of Jupiter, Fla., and Juliet Leigh Outten of Jackson, Tenn.

The Outstanding TA Award for exceptional service to education by a teaching assistant was presented to graduate students Paola Cappellaro of Milano, Italy and Bilge Yildiz of Izmir, Turkey.

The Joel and Ruth Spira Teaching Award for Distinguished Teaching was given to Professor David G. Cory . The 2002 Career Achievement Award in Nuclear Engineering went to Professor Sow-Hsin Chen . The PAI Outstanding Teaching Award, awarded by the student chapter of the American Nuclear Society, went to Professor Kent F. Hansen .

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 5, 2002.

Related Topics

More MIT News

Music video screenshot showing about 20 rectangular boxes on a black background featuring MIT Syncopasian members singing

A cappella for a cause

MIT Syncopasian’s musical performance features the poem “Things We Carry On The Sea” by Wang Ping and invites Asian members of the MIT community to help celebrate AAPI Heritage Month.

Read full story