Skip to content ↓

Nuclear Engineering recognizes eight students and teachers

The following awards were announced at the Department of Nuclear Engineering/American Nuclear Society's International Dinner on April 25.

The PAI Outstanding Teaching Award (awarded by the student chapter of the American Nuclear Society) went to Dr. Katherine Held, a lecturer in nuclear engineering.

The Manson Benedict Fellowship, awarded to a graduate student for excellence in academic performance and professional promise in nuclear engineering, went to Antonino Romano of Torino, Italy.

The Roy Axford Award for academic achievement by a senior in nuclear engineering was awarded to Twiggy Gi Gi Chan of Honolulu.

The Irving Kaplan Award for academic achievement by a junior in nuclear engineering went to Ian Parrish of Centralia, IL.

The Outstanding Student Service Award in recognition of exceptional services to the students, the department and the entire MIT community was presented to nuclear engineering graduate students Karen L. Noyes of Dracut, MA and Randi J. Cohen of Jericho, NY.

The Outstanding TA Award in recognition of exceptional services to education by a teaching assistant was presented to graduate students Zhiwen Xu of Jangsu Province, China and Dean Wang of Beijing.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 6, 2001.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News