Skip to content ↓

School of Engineering rewards six students, faculty

The School of Engineering honored four students and two faculty members for achievements in 2000-01.

The $5,000 Henry Ford II Award was presented to Noah Warner, a senior in aeronautics and astronautics from Petaluma, CA. The award is given to a senior engineering student who has maintained a cumulative average of 5.0 at the end of his or her seventh term and who has exceptional potential for leadership in the profession of the engineering and in society.

Barry Goldwater Scholarships of $7,500 went to Sanjay Basu, a junior in brain and cognitive science from Lisle, IL; Alexander Wissner-Gross, a sophomore in physics from New York; and Emily Craparo, a junior in aeronautics and astronautics from Destin, FL (see MIT Tech Talk, May 16).

Two faculty members were also honored. The Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching went to Professor Eric Grimson of electrical engineering and computer science or EECS.

The Junior Bose Award went to Assistant Professor Leonard McMillan of EECS. The award, established in 1995-96, is presented to an outstanding contributor to education from School of Engineering faculty who are being proposed for promotion to associate professor without tenure. The recipient is selected by Engineering Council as part of the promotion deliberations.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 6, 2001.

Related Links

Related Topics

More MIT News