Skip to content ↓

Biology department recognizes five

The Department of Biology presented the following awards to five seniors in biology at its annual senior dinner on May 3.

Two students received John L. Asinari Awards, which was established in memory of John L. Asinari (SB 1975) to recognize outstanding undergraduate research in the Life Sciences: Hemaluck (Lynn) R. Suwatanapongched of Burr Ridge, IL and Trushar J. Patel of Anaheim Hills, CA.

The Whitehead Prize is awarded to a student who has shown outstanding promise for a career in biological research as demonstrated by academic scholarship as well as contributions to research and the MIT community. It was presented to Christopher D. Allen of Encinitas, CA.

The Ned Holt Prize is presented to a biology major that has demonstrated excellence in scholarship as well as in service to the department and the MIT community. This prize was presented to Saria M. Hassan of Khartoum, Sudan. The Salvador E. Lauria Prize, which recognizes outstanding scholarship and research of publication quality, was presented to Karolina Fraczkowska of Lawrenceville, NJ.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on June 6, 2001.

Related Topics

More MIT News